Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-06-2013, 01:47 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 62
Advice Please :)

So I used a test strip and my Nitrate on the spectrum is 20ppm which says is safe, my Nitrite is 0ppm, total hardness is 75ppm (soft), total chlorine 0ppm, total alkalinity 120ppm (ideal) and my ph is almost 6.8 which is neutral, but a tiny bit acidic. The question is will my BB help regulate the ph to neutral? (I attached a picture of the color chart)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-920748418.jpg
Views:	42
Size:	63.0 KB
ID:	196659  
__________________

__________________
Incogneto21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 01:59 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jwh0818's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Harlingen, TX
Posts: 5,563
Your ph is perfectly fine at 6.8

How did you test for ammonia?

I recommend getting an API Master Test Kit to do future testing. The paper strips arent reliable
__________________

__________________
Fluffy's History!
jwh0818 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 02:13 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwh0818 View Post
Your ph is perfectly fine at 6.8

How did you test for ammonia?

I recommend getting an API Master Test Kit to do future testing. The paper strips arent reliable
I'm actually buying the ammonia strips later today, but I keep hearing about API Master Test Kit and that it's very good.
__________________
Incogneto21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 02:16 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
LadyApril83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Tampa Fl USA
Posts: 263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Incogneto21 View Post

I'm actually buying the ammonia strips later today, but I keep hearing about API Master Test Kit and that it's very good.
Yeah and in the long run cheaper as it does 800tests and is more accurate and a separate test for ammonia is not needed
__________________
LadyApril83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 02:18 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jwh0818's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Harlingen, TX
Posts: 5,563
Quote:
Originally Posted by Incogneto21 View Post

I'm actually buying the ammonia strips later today, but I keep hearing about API Master Test Kit and that it's very good.
It is the only test ill ever use.


Ever! Its an investment that us NEEDED in this hobby
__________________
Fluffy's History!
jwh0818 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 02:20 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by LadyApril83 View Post

Yeah and in the long run cheaper as it does 800tests and is more accurate and a separate test for ammonia is not needed
Why isn't it needed?
__________________
Incogneto21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 02:22 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwh0818 View Post

It is the only test ill ever use.

Ever! Its an investment that us NEEDED in this hobby
Good to know?
__________________
Incogneto21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 03:15 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
LadyApril83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Tampa Fl USA
Posts: 263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Incogneto21 View Post

Why isn't it needed?
An additional one is not needed cuz its included in the kit and most test strips its not.
__________________
LadyApril83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 03:21 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by LadyApril83 View Post

An additional one is not needed cuz its included in the kit and most test strips its not.
If the nitrite is 0 and the nitrate is 20 wouldn't the ammonia be 0? The reason I ask is cause the readings are very low.
__________________
Incogneto21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 08:42 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jwh0818's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Harlingen, TX
Posts: 5,563
Quote:
Originally Posted by Incogneto21 View Post

If the nitrite is 0 and the nitrate is 20 wouldn't the ammonia be 0? The reason I ask is cause the readings are very low.
No not all the time
__________________
Fluffy's History!
jwh0818 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 11:11 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Samzter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 3,625
Quote:
Originally Posted by Incogneto21 View Post
So I used a test strip and my Nitrate on the spectrum is 20ppm which says is safe, my Nitrite is 0ppm, total hardness is 75ppm (soft), total chlorine 0ppm, total alkalinity 120ppm (ideal) and my ph is almost 6.8 which is neutral, but a tiny bit acidic. The question is will my BB help regulate the ph to neutral? (I attached a picture of the color chart)
Off topic but if those are accurate I would do anything for that water!!!
__________________
Samzter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 11:14 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by Samzter View Post

Off topic but if those are accurate I would do anything for that water!!!
Lol thanks I guess. ^_^
__________________
Incogneto21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 12:12 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
FishieMomma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 499
I've heard the API test kits, which I think EVERYONE uses I this forum, are much cheaper from Amazon than any pet supply chain store or LFS (local fish store).
__________________

__________________
FishieMomma is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.