aggressive tank help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

toke_

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi I have a 10 gallon aggressive tank with a sleeper goby, blood parrot,and a tiger Oscar (all not too big) and the sleeper goby is getting picked on really bad by both other fish. what should I do?

I'm no expert on chiclids but I think you might need a bigger tank

theres too much fish that needs space in a small tank. and they are not compatible.

I think the Oscar needs a 125g alone. Then the blood parrot or the sleeper goby I'm not sure about.

i have a 35gallon tall tank i think i might move them to, but the oscar and the blood parot are teaming up on the sleeper goby and the sleeper was $20 :\ id hate to see him die. I had the sleeper in the 10 gallon by itself but he seemed lonely and wouldnt eat so i put the other fish with him.

I would rehome them if possible. The blood parrot and the oscar . Oscar can't really be in a tank with other fish and they get huge. Like I said a 125g would be able to house one.

Your tank is too small and I don't think the goby is a good fit at all. Though yes, 125 gallons may seems like over kill to you you fish is going to need a bigger tank than what you are giving.

I think maybe 125 gallons may be a bit big for a single oscar.. I think it's the recommendation for a mating pair but I would say you need at least 75 or so if you plan to keep this oscar and blood parrot together. I don't know a lot about these fish so maybe even more.

I think the goby would be better off on it's own TBH. It's mostly a peaceful fish. It may fair ok if you give the other 2 the space they need but it may not. I do believe they are picking on it because of the lack of space.