Algae eater suggestions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Nikkid1987

Aquarium Advice Activist
I want a "sucker fish" lol but Im new to the fish world and I don't know if it would live ,have enough to eat or what to even feed it if there's not algae for it to eat ! I know this sounds dumb but I just need experienced people's input :) thanks

I want a "sucker fish" lol but Im new to the fish world and I don't know if it would live ,have enough to eat or what to even feed it if there's not algae for it to eat ! I know this sounds dumb but I just need experienced people's input :) thanks

Not dumb at all!! Just have a few questions.

Size tank
Tank mates
Why do you want one exactly

The no list:

Chinese algae eaters. These things are the devil

Other than that their all pretty good, my favourite is the Otto algae eater.
Also like plecos.

If you have lots of plants ottos are good other than amano shrimp

^^^ yeah the only way to have them is with agressive fish or else they will kill all your flat faced fish.

Not dumb at all!! Just have a few questions.

Size tank
Tank mates
Why do you want one exactly

10g
2 glo tetras
Fantail calico goldfish
And a harlequin _______( I forgot the last part lol)
I want one because I Just like them . Their appearance is strange and I don't know why but I love em lol

Even if there is no algae to eat in the tank there are algae disks looking food available at fish/pet stores

There's a sand Cory cat or Corydoras arcuatus but really all the ones I've ever seen or read about in the "book" require 20 gallons or more. There are a variety of Cory (Corydoras) Catfish

But keep in mind yours is a 10 gallon

http://www.liveaquaria.com/product/aquarium-fish-supplies.cfm?c=830+1161

Then there's the Oto Catfish or Otocinclus Catfish.

http://www.liveaquaria.com/product/prod_display.cfm?c=830+1162+923&pcatid=923