Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-26-2007, 07:41 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,254
Algae Near Substrate

How do you scrub algae near the bottom just above the substrate. I accidentally put a tiny scratch on the glass picking up some of the sand substrate with the brush. Is there a way to avoid this?
__________________

__________________
theotheragentm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2007, 07:45 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Eastern Pennsylvania
Posts: 47
I found the best way for me is to pull a lot of the substrate away from the glass, clean it and then push it back but I don't have sand so its easier.
__________________

__________________
Plowboy91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2007, 07:55 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Zagz's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 17,108
Send a message via MSN to Zagz
I use a razor blade to avoid picking sand up. I push the razor blade downward only on an angle to the glass.
__________________
AA Community Rules | AA TOS

-----------
Site Administrator
Zagz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2007, 11:25 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,254
I will try that. Just your standard bare blade, correct? How hard do you press?
__________________
theotheragentm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2007, 12:35 PM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
An t-iasg's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Criders Corners, PA
Posts: 9,889
I use one of those box-cutter blades. I just hold the bare blade in my fingers. I like the box-cutter blades because the top edge isn't sharp so you can hold it, and the bottom blade is nice and wide. It's made to be "flipped" (change the cutting side) in the box-cutter handle, so the blade itself is a nice size. Don't press too hard at first - press gently and see how much pressure you need to apply. I don't push very hard at all for my tanks. The green spot algae is the toughest to get off, but even that will come off pretty easily with minimal pressure. I don't get too close to the silicon corners, though. Since I'm looking at an angle through the glass and water, I can never tell how really close I am to the silicon, so I leave it alone with the blade. I put some Excel on a paper towel and rub the corners with the paper towel.
__________________







An t-iasg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
algae, substrate

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Algae in substrate skae310 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 11-01-2009 01:51 PM
algae on substrate Clint3240 Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 8 03-18-2009 09:25 PM
How can i kill off substrate algae? Satsumas Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 10 08-05-2007 06:07 AM
Cleaning algae off the substrate peterac Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 11-08-2005 01:59 AM
Algae problem on substrate kwan Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 05-31-2004 08:43 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.