Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-19-2002, 11:17 AM   #1
DOC BENNETT
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Follow up Question

I had the same problem as this other letter. I got a new tank. i have 4 Neon Tetras one Guppy and one frog in a ten gallon tank. Only one guppy because the other one died a week ago and I am trying to get my tank right before subjecting another fish to the torture of my tank.
Anyway, I woke up two days ago to find the tank VERY cloudy. I changed 50% of the water, after treating it, and it was still cloudy. Then this morning I changed it again and still cloudy. I took a water sample to PET SMART ( the place I got the tank and fish from) and they said I had a high ammonia level and recommended "AmmoLock". I had that already and had been using it on changes. What can i do. How do i save these five fish.

__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2002, 11:26 AM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
Is this a new tank? The cloudiness is most likely from an opportunistic bacteria that is feeding off the excess waste in the tank. Continue to do water chages, about 20% per day. Cut back on feeding and remove any uneaten food immediately. As for the ammonia, it is either high from the cycle, or you are not using the proper test kit to test water treated with ammolock. Ammolock will give a false high ammonia reading, if you are using a nesslers reagent kit, you will never get an accurate reading. I recommend a Salycilate reagent type kit.
__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2002, 12:12 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
Quote:
Originally Posted by reefrunner69
Ammolock will give a false high ammonia reading, if you are using a nesslers reagent kit, you will never get an accurate reading. I recommend a Salycilate reagent type kit.
50 Kudos points says its a false high reading. Many of the cheaper test kits give false readings when ammolock is used.

I dont think there is a need to add ammolock to the tank every water change. Over a peirod of days as the water is changed out more and more the ammoina readings should lower as the ammolock is diluted.

If you dont have an ammonia kit pick one up next time your in pet smart.
__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2002, 06:26 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Portsmouth
Posts: 43
Just a note to say dont panic too much about the cloudy tank water, especially if your tank is brand new & and the clouds white. i'm a new comer to the world of fish keeping like you, thou i seem to be slightly further on. A white cloudiness is part of the tanks maturation process and will clear in 5-10 days. Also, i'm not sure if you should be changing the water every day, it will affect the maturation process of your biological filter(this is a very important piece of equipment!),same with adding ammolock every day, this will produce high readings(stresszyme does)I have found adding bacterial culture more useful.Ammonia levels will get high (scarilly, in my opinion!) but will drop suddenly. Don't forget to keep an eye on nitrite and pH Levels too. Last tip, take you water to a pet shop that offers water health checks via the internet(aquatest.net), they are a godsend!
Hope this is useful ,good luck!
__________________
JurassicRIP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2002, 09:54 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 869
Send a message via ICQ to jackdp
Like fishfreek said, many test kits will use a reagent that greatly raises the pH of the sample up to a pH of 10 or more. Ammolock and many other "ammonia removers" don't really remove the ammonia at all, they just bind the ammonia up into other compounds that are less toxic. The problem, at a very high pH these complexes that are formed fall apart and you get a false high reading. I would try Seachem's ammonia multi test kit...it uses a gas phase of ammonia and claims to avoid interference from ammonia complexes, amines, amides..blah blah blah good luck.
__________________
Brad C.
jackdp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2002, 10:16 PM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
THe seachem kit will actually test both free ammonia and total ammonia. the free ammonia is what I was told is the toxic ammonia. The total ammonia test should show the amminolock where the free ammonia should not.
__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2002, 11:29 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: NY
Posts: 179
Send a message via AIM to Ramrebel
ammo-chips

I used ammo-chips and they lowered the ammonia for the readings. The go in your filter with the charcoal. It worked for me . good luck

Ed
__________________
John 21:5
No wonder they weren't happy.....

20g - fireparrot
Ramrebel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2002, 06:08 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Portsmouth
Posts: 43
Ammo-rock warning!

Be careful when using ammo-rocks. They have an alkalising effect, thereby lowering the pH of the water.It was instrumental in the death of one of my fish(the late jurassic-hence the username),so for heavens sake, use with caution, and keep a close eye on the pH levels.
__________________
JurassicRIP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2002, 07:33 PM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
Not trying to be too nit picky, but if they alkalize the water, they would raise the ph. >7 = alkaline <7= acid. Perhaps you might look for another cause for the lowering ph?
__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2002, 06:21 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Portsmouth
Posts: 43
Ok, be pedantic! I did mean raising the pH. I wrote the message late at night, gimme a break!! .All i'm saying is be careful.
__________________
JurassicRIP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2002, 08:25 PM   #11
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
I'm sorry, I took your post at face value I was trying to help you find out why your ph was dropping. I meant no offense. It won't happen again.
__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2002, 03:00 AM   #12
member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 360
if you monitor your tank closely while cycling, you shouldn't need ammo-lock! and most tests do measure the total ammonia, and after using ammo-lock, you will not have any idea how much toxic ammonia is in your water, so your measuring can become fairly useless...i haven't used a test kit that measures free ammonia, haven't seen one, but maybe they are fairly new? at any rate, the fewer chemicals you use, the better off you will be in my opinion, and ammo chips and ammo -lock and such are not needed...in the case of an ammonia emergency ( which you shouldn't usually have if you are monitoring a new tank and not overfeeding ) you can do frequent small water changes, several a day if you have to reduce the levels. and yes , if you drop your level of ammonia too low, you will slow down the development of your biological filter because they need some to feed off of until a balance is developed, but better to extend the cycle a little than permanently burn your fishees gills ......or worse
__________________
CRaZeeeBiTcHisH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ammonia

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The ammonia is very high? goldfishlover101 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 11 09-18-2009 10:04 PM
ammonia is high lovefishies Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 07-08-2006 09:33 AM
Ammonia WAY too high? Elle2 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 21 05-15-2006 01:52 PM
ammonia to high? jester Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 08-30-2003 05:52 PM
High ammonia, what should i do??? mansiz Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 08-04-2003 01:32 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.