Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-16-2014, 01:34 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
rhsoto94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 395
Ammonia in tap

I know people do water changes to get rid of ammonia but what if your tap that you change water is pretty high in ammonia? Here's a pic of my tap Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1389897256.559257.jpg
Views:	53
Size:	165.1 KB
ID:	216995

I know to use things such as prime and other dechlorinators but that won't get rid of it all
__________________

__________________
rhsoto94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2014, 02:38 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,548
Have you tested multiple time to confirm your findings? Be sure to shake vigorously for 15 seconds and allow 5 minutes for the color to develop.

If you've really got that much ammonia, I'd invest in a reverse osmosis filtration system for your entire home. You could also look into further testing to see if the ammonia in your water is free ammonia or not. That will cost some extra $$ to either get the kit or pay to have it tested.
__________________

__________________
enrgizerbunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2014, 02:54 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
rhsoto94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 395
Yep I did it twice last night and just this morning. Added 8 drops of each and shook as indicated.

I was always wondering why my water would have a little spike in ammonia after water changes I don't know why I barely thought of testing the tap. I'll be moving in a few months or I would invest in RO or other filtration. Here's my tank water after a change Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1389902052.745303.jpg
Views:	57
Size:	164.9 KB
ID:	217001
__________________
rhsoto94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2014, 03:06 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,548
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhsoto94 View Post
Yep I did it twice last night and just this morning. Added 8 drops of each and shook as indicated.

I was always wondering why my water would have a little spike in ammonia after water changes I don't know why I barely thought of testing the tap. I'll be moving in a few months or I would invest in RO or other filtration. Here's my tank water after a change Attachment 217001
If the ammonia drops to 0 overnight, I wouldn't worry too much about it since you're moving.
__________________
enrgizerbunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2014, 03:36 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Rivers2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,694
yuck I would invest in a britta or buy bottled until you move, for yourself that is. Dont know what to say about the fish. I guess I would wait it out. I am nervous to test my tap now.
__________________
Rivers2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2014, 03:43 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
rhsoto94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 395
I was always the type of person to think drinking tap was fine too. Hopefully my new house will have better tap. For now I think I will mix it at least with those 5 gallon refills by grocery stores when I do water changes but that won't be that bad since I only have a 20 gallon. It's going to be a pain once I upgrade to a 40g.
__________________
rhsoto94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2014, 03:52 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,548
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rivers2k View Post
yuck I would invest in a britta or buy bottled until you move, for yourself that is. Dont know what to say about the fish. I guess I would wait it out. I am nervous to test my tap now.
It could easily be that his tap contains ammonium ion, rather than free (toxic) ammonia.
__________________
enrgizerbunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2014, 04:27 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,625
That level of ammonia is really nothing to worry about. Even a 50% change will put the ammonia at .25ppm which is perfectly safe for fish and will he quickly removed with the bio filter.
__________________

__________________
"The simplest explanation for some phenomenon is more likely to be accurate than more complicated explanations." -Occam's razor
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ammonia, ammonia in tap

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.