Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-22-2013, 08:03 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
AquaShark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Sunshine state
Posts: 116
Ammonia in tap water

Recently I tested all the water sources in my house and there is ammonia in all of it, except the filtered water from the fridge. It takes forever to get enough water, and my dad no longer wants me to use it, in risk of damaging the fridge. Do I really have to get a full out water purifying system, or is there some simpler way? I am aware that Seachem Prime (which I currently use) is suppose to detoxify ammonia, but I have heard from numerous places that it only detoxifies it for 48 hours. I also dont like it showing a false positive for ammonia, so then I have no idea what really is in my water.
__________________

__________________
AquaShark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 09:04 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
flitabout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Pipestone, Minnesota
Posts: 1,929
I have it in my water too. Around .5ppm I used to just add a bit of extra prime. It was usually back down to 0 by the next morning.
__________________

__________________
flitabout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 09:13 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Fresh2o's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 12,863
In 2012 I had 1.0 ppm ammonia from the tap. Interestingly it went back to zero in 2013. I did not have Prime at the time. I limited the PWCs to 20-40%; by the next day ammonia and nitrite were usually at zero. One time I did a 75% change and saw a trace of nitrite the next day.
__________________
I am an ALGAE farmer.
Terms of Service | Community Rules | FresH2O's Planted Tank | Fresh2o's Shrimp Tank
Fresh2o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2013, 09:39 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
shellieca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Ontario, CA
Posts: 1,622
What is your exact tap water reading for ammonia? If your tank is fully cycled there shouldn't be an issue; the BB will process the ammonia out like it should.
__________________
shellieca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2013, 03:58 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
AquaShark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Sunshine state
Posts: 116
It was somewhere under 1ppm I think. I will test when I have time. I know the bacteria takes care of it eventually, but id feel better knowing I wasnt putting any extra ammonia in the water.
__________________
AquaShark is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.