Ammonia issue

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ma_guinea

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi guys....I’m a bit of a newbie at fish tanks.

I set up a 100L (~20 gal) tank a few months ago. It had a new Fluval U3 filter put in to from the start. They cycle went fine and saw the expected spikes then decrease, etc. We took a sample of the water to our local aquatics centre and they said all was fine for us to put a couple of black moors in. They’ve been happily swimming away in there for a few weeks or so and we were doing the regular weekly 10% water change and adding bio boost as directed.

Suddenly we saw a spike on the ammonia test strips saying 6ppm! We did a 50% change and started using ammo lock with 10% daily water changes and it’s down to about 2-3 ppm But we can’t get it any lower. I’ve now started doing 20% daily changes with ammo lock.

Any suggests greatly received!

When you say the cycle went fine, what do you mean? Did you do a fishless cycle? How did you do it? Apart from ammonia what are your other water parameters? pH? Nitrite? Nitrate?

Hey! Yea I did a fish less cycle. We filled the tank and put in the ornaments (were not using live plants) and let it work through the cycle over a few weeks. We saw the spikes in ammonia, etc that were expected before it settled down. The aquatic centre was happy with the water sample we brought in (we’d been in to them for advice on setting up the tank and spoke to the same people so th remembered us).

I’ve been dip stick testing using the API 5 in 1 test strips and all have come back normal (hardness, ph, itrite and nitrate).

Sorry! No we saw a pH of 6.5, no nitrites or nitrates at all. Just the ammonia

If there are no nitrates then the tank isnt cycled. A cycled tank is converting ammonia and nitrites into nitrates which you remove through water changes.