Ammonia levels won't go down

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Ukbliss

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi guys

I am getting desperate here and was hoping if anyone can help as even my local fish store won't give me any valuable advice, at least one that made a difference.

I started my aquarium in September. It is a tropical aquarium of 60 litres currently just having 3 corydoras, gravel and a few live plants, some rocks and one plastic plant. When I first installed the tank I let it with no fish cycling for about 1 month. Then I took water to the fish shop and got it tested. The result as the guy said was perfect and was allowed to add my first fish. I only put a pair of dwarf gouramis. As I am only a beginner I did ask for hardy fish, as I realised the hard way gouramis are not.about 2 weeks later I added the 3 corydoras. My gouramis got sick within a month. The female got White spots and the male got an ulcer. I tried melafix and the White spot treatment and nothing. My female died first the male although got the ulcer was very lively.