Angels with danios

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

skiweeangel

Aquarium Advice Addict
Have a feeling I already know the consensus. I was thinking about what I want in my sons 55gal. He loves his danios so the are a must. I am looking the add some tetras and there is a BN in there. Not sure what else as of yet, trying to keep an open mind.

Do you think the angels will be harassed too much by the danios?

skiweeangel said:
Do you think the angels will be harassed too much by the danios?

I thnk you have it backwards. The question is will the angels harass the danios.

Hhhhmmmm ok. What do you recommend. Do you think it's not likely/possible/probable that they can be happy together.

skiweeangel said:
Hhhhmmmm ok. What do you recommend. Do you think it's not likely/possible/probable that they can be happy together.

Well, I am no expert on this subject, but I have a thread about stocking a 36 gallon tank and I was advised to have glofish with angels... glofish are danios, so I assume that it will work.

I have giant danios in my 150 with two angels. They pretty much seem to ignore each other.

there may be some ocassional minor nipping from both sides. But nothing relentless and too over harassing.
So it should be ok.
I have kept them together in the past.

Just make sure there are at least 6 danios and the angels have lots of space to lessen the aggression! Hence don't overstock your tank.

meBNme said:
I have giant danios in my 150 with two angels. They pretty much seem to ignore each other.

Thats quite different, giant danios get big, so there is no way an angel could eat them. As for regular danios, a larger school would be good, and they have to get to around 2 inches. Angels dont like alot of activity, so if you added these danios, you couldnt add too much more the the middle section of the tank.