Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-10-2006, 11:59 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: where the wild things are (NC)
Posts: 396
Send a message via AIM to Thebluyak
another test result question

Sorry guys I know yall get these test result questions atleast 500 times a day.
10 gallon tank
planted tank
with some tetras

this is using a AP master kit

PH- 7.2
NH3 (ammonia) 1PPm
NO4 (Nitrite) .25PPm
NO3 (Nitrate) 5.0PPM

Are these numbers normal so far? Also I havnt done a water change yet as it is just beginning the cycle, I am running flourite substrate with 1.5 WPG light.
This is a practice tank before i start my 55 gallon piranha tank
__________________

__________________
Thebluyak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2006, 12:16 AM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
jsoong's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 4,222
How long has the tank been running? It is a bit unusual to see NO2 & NO3 in the face of highish NH3. It is possible that you have nitrates in the water.

It would be useful to test your plain tap water to see where you started from.
__________________

__________________
80 gal FW with 30 gal DIY wet/dry/sump.
9 fancy golds, 1 hillstream loaches, 1 rubber-lip pleco (C. thomasi), 3 SAEs, small school of white cloud minnows, planted.
jsoong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2006, 01:25 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: where the wild things are (NC)
Posts: 396
Send a message via AIM to Thebluyak
its been running for two days, I will test my tap water when I get back home but that wont be till wednesday night
__________________
Thebluyak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2006, 10:43 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,020
Send a message via Yahoo to jcarlilesiu
I would do a water change to get that ammonia down if you have live stock in there. Other than that I would assume that you have nitrates in your tap and that is why you are seeing them in your tank
jcarlilesiu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2006, 10:45 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 6,703
and if there's no livestock in there, and you're fishless cycling, increase the ammonia levels to 3-4ppm to kick off a stronger cycle.
__________________
Former advisor and planted tank geek...life's moved on though.
malkore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2006, 03:18 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: where the wild things are (NC)
Posts: 396
Send a message via AIM to Thebluyak
10-4 will do alotta water changes to kelp keep the amonnia down. wont the plants help keep the amonnia down also? Also the amonnia spikes, builds up bacteria, converts NH3 to NO4 then NO4 is converted to NO3, so at the end of my cycle I should see zero's all the way aross the board or should I always see some nitrate numbers?
__________________
Thebluyak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2006, 03:25 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rich311k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 12,189
Send a message via Yahoo to rich311k
Plant will use some of the ammonia. You will have 0 ammonia, 0 nitrite, some nitrate when you are done.
__________________
From where the sun now stands, I will fight no more forever.
rich311k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2006, 11:55 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TomK2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Glen Ellyn, IL
Posts: 2,085
Since you have tetras in the tank, I second the PWC to keep the ammnia less than 1ppm, preferably even less than 0.5 ppm. Yes, plants do take up ammonia, but till they do, your tetras are being exposed.

Oh, and nitrite is NO2 ? Yep, once you have enough bacteria to handle the ammonia production of the fish, your ammonia will be zero, nitrite zero, and unless heavily planted, nitrate will have increased.
__________________

__________________
TomK2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
test

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water test result for LR cycling mtlion Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 02-12-2009 09:21 PM
question about a test Sundiego Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 7 07-11-2007 12:29 AM
test result kwanlp26 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 01-29-2006 02:35 PM
Another question about test kits kimberly Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 06-12-2005 01:41 AM
Result of build up of metals in tank?? swishyfishies Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 04-28-2003 09:28 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.