Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-10-2005, 05:36 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Pompton Lakes, New Jersey
Posts: 336
Send a message via AIM to quadrider5953
Another Update

Hi everyone. Well today i went to the lfs and i bought a aquarium pharmecuticals master test kit. I tested the water and here are my results: ph- 7.7
ammonia- .25ppm
nitrite- 0ppm
nitrate- 5ppm

I guess this is ok right? I guess it is pretty much cycled even after 15 days? If you dont think so please reply. I also bought an anacharis plant and placed it in the center. I should be adding a piece of driftwood shortly. I also bought 3 rosabaras but i dont know which kind they are yet. I will search online to see what they are. The food i got was Tetramin Pro Crisps. Is this food any good?


I will try and get picture soon.

-Kyle
__________________

__________________
quadrider5953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2005, 05:45 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 393
Send a message via AIM to Bhunsucker
Your tank is not Cycled yet unitl Ammonia-0 Nitrite-0 Nitrate->5
__________________

__________________
----------------------------------
"Fly Low Avoid the Radar"

55Gal FW Aquarium
AquaClear 110/500 Filter

45gal Clarity Plus Aquarium
Wet/Dry DLS Aquatics Filteration System
Bhunsucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2005, 05:50 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fluff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 11,423
I agree your tank isn't cycled yet. Since you already added fish, you will need to do extra water changes so your fish won't suffer. Here is an article on the nitrogen cycle that may help you understand the cycle process.

http://www.aquariumadvice.com/showqu...q=2&fldAuto=21
__________________
~Cindy
Fluff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2005, 05:53 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Blazeherd2306's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: U.S.
Posts: 2,238
I'm assuming the light is only 15 watts, therefore 1.5 wpg. Make sure you pick low light plants such as the ones listed here, http://www.plantgeek.net/plantguide_...=1&filter_by=2
__________________
Blazeherd2306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2005, 05:58 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Pompton Lakes, New Jersey
Posts: 336
Send a message via AIM to quadrider5953
The light is the one that came with the perfecto light. I am not sure what it is. I will try to find out. If it is no good enough i will repace it. also in catalogs the perfect strip light says it comes with an 18 " bulb but i measured it and it is less then 18". Why is that?

-Kyle
__________________
quadrider5953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2005, 11:55 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Pompton Lakes, New Jersey
Posts: 336
Send a message via AIM to quadrider5953
OOPS

Mistake- the fish i bought from the lfs were black phantom tetras, the guy got the wrong fish. its ok though, they look cool and seem to be good fish.
__________________
quadrider5953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2005, 12:07 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
Jchillin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: New York, NY (The Big Apple)
Posts: 14,951
Quote:
Originally Posted by quadrider5953
The light is the one that came with the perfecto light. I am not sure what it is. I will try to find out. If it is no good enough i will repace it. also in catalogs the perfect strip light says it comes with an 18 " bulb but i measured it and it is less then 18". Why is that?

-Kyle
The bulb size is different from the light strip size. Perhaps they were referring to the light strip instead.

It's doubtful that the bulb is more than 17 watts.
__________________
_________________________________
Jchillin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2005, 12:13 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Pompton Lakes, New Jersey
Posts: 336
Send a message via AIM to quadrider5953
In that case the bulb is 15" and that is how long it measured. I was just making sure because i dont want to buy a bulb that doesnt fit. What is the best bulb that is 15" long and is good for a planted tank?

-Kyle
__________________
quadrider5953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2005, 01:28 PM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
Jchillin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: New York, NY (The Big Apple)
Posts: 14,951
This is probably one of the biggest problems we planted tank folks have, the stock light strip and bulbs. The ballast cannot support any greater wattages and to make things even worse, the bulbs don't come in greater wattages in that length.

This leaves us no choice but to customize the entire thing or retro-fit a different light strip altogether. In your case, PC's are the easiest way to go. The PC's are small enough and carry enough wattage to fit your tank size.

Try looking at the PC light strips here for some ideas.
__________________
_________________________________
Jchillin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2005, 03:44 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Pompton Lakes, New Jersey
Posts: 336
Send a message via AIM to quadrider5953
i also have a AGA strip light that holds 2 tubular bulbs. Could i use 2 bulbs like the ones in this link? http://www.bigalsonline.com/catalog/...d1=1843;pcid2= That would give me 2wpg.
__________________
quadrider5953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2005, 04:58 PM   #11
AA Team Emeritus
 
Jchillin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: New York, NY (The Big Apple)
Posts: 14,951
Flourescent bulbs are not interchangable with modified incandescent bulbs. The flourescent has a two-four pin insert, not a screw in. You would have to change the entire assembly over to screw in. Those bulbs were designed primarily for the smaller tank hoods that come with incandescent bulbs.
__________________
_________________________________
Jchillin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2005, 05:21 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Pompton Lakes, New Jersey
Posts: 336
Send a message via AIM to quadrider5953
You must have misunderstood me, the one AGA hood i have has a liaght fixture that holds 2 screw in bulbs. I will try and get a picture soon.

-Kyle
__________________
quadrider5953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2005, 05:43 PM   #13
AA Team Emeritus
 
Jchillin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: New York, NY (The Big Apple)
Posts: 14,951
Yeah...I did misunderstand. When the term "tube" is used, I automatically think flourescent with pins.

If this is the case...Homerun! For the record, I would love to put that bulb in my 30 gal hood, but I have that silly problem with the pins.
__________________
_________________________________
Jchillin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2005, 09:27 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Pompton Lakes, New Jersey
Posts: 336
Send a message via AIM to quadrider5953
Ok, i will order these bulbs as soon as i get money. Thanks for your help.

-Kyle
__________________
quadrider5953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2005, 09:41 PM   #15
AA Team Emeritus
 
Jchillin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: New York, NY (The Big Apple)
Posts: 14,951
No problem...glad to help.
__________________

__________________
_________________________________
Jchillin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Update Steven A Members Freshwater Tanks Showcase 1 09-10-2006 11:02 AM
update and cry for help on new planted tank.. HAPPY Update sherry Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 3 10-28-2005 03:49 PM
update puffbaby Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 0 08-02-2005 04:15 PM
update mother2kamryn Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 11-21-2003 04:41 PM
Update ADCISCO Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 0 11-16-2003 03:13 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.