Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-20-2007, 11:22 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,254
Anybody Pump Up to a Filter?

For overflows, I've always seen an overflow in the main tank and a sump/filter on the bottom. Just curious if anyone has ever pumped up out of the main tank and had the filter drain back into the main tank. It seems quite possible, but I can think of a few reasons why this isn't as great of an idea. I just throught I'd throw this out there for discussion.
__________________

__________________
theotheragentm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2007, 11:24 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 328
One of the reasons why it is a bad idea is because when the filter is below the tank, it can be hidden in the stand. Your "idea" of a filter will require the filter on top or raised above the tank.
__________________

__________________
---
75 Gallon
Rena FilStar xP3, Aquarium Systems Visi-Therm 200W (2), Coralife 48" Aqualight 260W 6700K
---
10 Gallon Hexagon
Hagen AquaClear 30, Visi-Therm Deluxe 50, DIY CF 20W 6500K CF, Hagen Natural CO2 System :: Bloodfin Tetra (1), Red-eye Tetra (3), Black Skirt Tetra (3), Harlequin Rasbora (6), Platy (1), Otocinclus Catfish (1) :: Rotala Indica, Hygrophila Difformis (Wisteria), Cabomba Carolinia
---
tropicalfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2007, 11:31 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,254
Yup. I've seen so many tanks built into cabinets and walls, so it's possible to do I suppose, but like you said, almost every tank has something it's standing on, so draining to a filter is probably more practical.
__________________

theotheragentm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2007, 11:37 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 154
No reason you can't. Maybe a few reasons why it wouldn't be desirable- Probably the same you thought of.

Sumps aren't generally pretty. Unless you are hiding it above your tank, it would be visable. Easier to hide it in the tank stand.

Your pump is in your display tank instead of the sump.

And the last reason- When you install a sump, the water level in the sump changes with evaporation. With the sump and display tank reversed, the water level in the display tank changes, not the water level in the sump.
__________________
All opinions are my own. I have been wrong before, and will be again, and may be now.
-Mark
MarkP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2007, 12:13 AM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chatsworth, GA
Posts: 4,071
Send a message via Yahoo to loganj
Typically, if anything is installed above the main tank, it is the refugium. This is done so pods and other critters don't go through the pump and get shredded. It's usually in conjunction with a sump underneath.
__________________
Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.
Logan J
loganj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter, pump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Filter Pump Priming monte1214 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 10-16-2009 09:28 PM
Pump/filter advice please deepseadennis General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 8 08-24-2008 10:12 AM
What Pump for UV Filter??? jd4g General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 8 01-14-2006 03:14 AM
Filter/pump help? Broken-Lizard General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 05-13-2005 10:56 PM
pond without pump and filter okay for awhile? robotcholi Freshwater & Brackish - Coldwater, Native Fish & Ponds 15 04-16-2004 03:20 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.