API masterkit liquid testing help?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

AngelFishGirl

Aquarium Advice FINatic
I recently just got this. I SWEAR I'm following the directions correctly. I've read them 3 times and tested twice already!

The high range pH looks a darker purple than the two purples on the sheet.

Nitrate in the bottle is showing yellow (the same color as the drops) even though my old strips said they were at 60. I just added plants yesterday AND just did a water change, but is it possibly that the strips really were that inaccurate? Or the plants helped that fast?

Also, ammonia at it LOWEST (0) should be yellow. Mine is coming in clear during both tests. Is that normal?

I've been filling them as they should be filled and stuff. What's going on?

I have been waiting 5-10 minutes for each to fully develop. :/

It's my first time using this kit obviously :sweatdrop:

EDIT: not sure if there's a difference between bottle numbers 1 and 2 for ammonia and nitrate, but I've been using number 1 for both tests

Nitrates are zero btw.

Pics:

Attachments

• image-189418551.jpg
    image-189418551.jpg
    60.9 KB · Views: 68
  • image-958172361.jpg
    image-958172361.jpg
    61.8 KB · Views: 65
  • image-1837086088.jpg
    image-1837086088.jpg
    61.7 KB · Views: 73
Therein lies your problem. You must use both bottles 1 & 2 for those tests. Ammonia, 8 drops from bottle 1, 8 drops from bottle 2, cap and shake vigorously. For nitrates, you need to shake both bottles vigorously for at least a minute before putting 10 drops of bottle 1, 10 drops of bottle 2, cap and shake. Hope that helps

OMG that makes sense. I swear to god I was like "what am i doing wrong???" OMG thanks so much.