Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-01-2012, 10:22 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 214
AquaClear 50 Footprint

I'm looking to upgrade from a Marineland Penguin 150 to an AquaClear 50 on my Marineland 20-gallon high aquarium. However, before I buy the new filter, I need to make sure it will in the lid cut-out on my tank.

Could anyone please provide the footprint measurements for the AquaClear 50 HOB filter?

Thanks!
__________________

__________________
JackSpadesSI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 10:31 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
barterking85's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Canada, Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,532
If you have a hacksaw or a utility knife you can cut the lid really easily
__________________

__________________
My biggest worry is that when I'm dead my wife will sell my aquarium gear for what I "SAID" I paid for it.
Ryan
barterking85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 12:42 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
KaylNeko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 750
4x9x8. Pull stuff up on amazon if you need dimensions--they're pretty good about putting them on there.
__________________
100g planted community tank
75g planted goldfish tank
29g planted betta community tank
5g planted Betta tank
KaylNeko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 02:04 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryan-peddle View Post
If you have a hacksaw or a utility knife you can cut the lid really easily
I'd rather not saw into my lid. I don't consider this to be an option.

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaylNeko View Post
4x9x8. Pull stuff up on amazon if you need dimensions--they're pretty good about putting them on there.
I saw that, actually, but I assumed that was the dimensions of the box that the filter comes in. Granted, that's somewhat useful, but I'd rather know the actual measurements of the filter, if possible.
__________________
JackSpadesSI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 03:48 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
barterking85's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Canada, Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,532
Quote:
Originally Posted by JackSpadesSI

I'd rather not saw into my lid. I don't consider this to be an option.

I saw that, actually, but I assumed that was the dimensions of the box that the filter comes in. Granted, that's somewhat useful, but I'd rather know the actual measurements of the filter, if possible.
Just giving an option many many many people have done it
__________________
My biggest worry is that when I'm dead my wife will sell my aquarium gear for what I "SAID" I paid for it.
Ryan
barterking85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 05:51 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
KaylNeko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 750
Quote:
Originally Posted by JackSpadesSI View Post
I saw that, actually, but I assumed that was the dimensions of the box that the filter comes in. Granted, that's somewhat useful, but I'd rather know the actual measurements of the filter, if possible.
Not according to the measurements of my Aqueon 55/75. However, Aqueon boxes if very tightly, so it may add a 1/4 inch tops to the dimensions. You can also stop by the pet store and unbox a filter and compare it to a hood--that's what I wound up doing since I got full dimensions from amazon but it didn't tell me how big the area that actually overhung the tank was. Which I should have thought of before--my apologies. I use Versa glass tops, so had to make sure it fit in the area left by the vinyl back since cutting the glass wasn't happening.
__________________
100g planted community tank
75g planted goldfish tank
29g planted betta community tank
5g planted Betta tank
KaylNeko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 07:35 PM   #7
Look It Up
 
librarygirl's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 7,052
I have an AquaClear 50, just measured it for you.

It's 7" wide, about 4.5" deep (back to front) and about 7" high (including intake tube going into the tank).
__________________

__________________
Every living thing is significant.
🐠 Guide to Starting a Freshwater Aquarium
Community Rules | Custom Site Search
librarygirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aquaclear, aquaclear 50, clear

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Aquaclear versus Fluval C4 GodFan Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 01-19-2012 03:33 PM
Marineland Bio-Wheel vs. Aquaclear Power filter? Chriznat20 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 11-11-2011 12:54 PM
Aquaclear filters good or not. Sharkbait54 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 17 10-05-2011 03:28 PM
Aquaclear or Marineland? mattman0182 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 11 10-02-2011 03:44 PM
Which Aquaclear filtration method to choose? Terrance Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 09-24-2011 02:41 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.