Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-27-2013, 10:02 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Sillyfishies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Omaha,Nebraska
Posts: 3,374
My filter is only trickling. Its not putting through a full stream. There seems to be an air bubble in the bend of the pipe.

I've already tried cleaning the impeller!

Any help is appreciated!

edit- my fish have started gasping at the surface.

Replaced polyfill - no effect.
__________________

__________________
90g Reef
30g Long Frag Tank
10g Planted
3g Pico Reef
Sillyfishies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2013, 10:11 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
trkchezz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Detroit, Michigan
Posts: 328
Turn is off, empty water, clean sponge. Put back into place, fill with water and turn on.
__________________

__________________
trkchezz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2013, 10:23 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Sillyfishies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Omaha,Nebraska
Posts: 3,374
Quote:
Originally Posted by trkchezz View Post
Turn is off, empty water, clean sponge. Put back into place, fill with water and turn on.
Tried that- no effect. I then thoroughly cleaned out the pipes - no effect. Took out the pipe again, emptied water, put back in place, works.

It was the stupid air pocket!

Fixed- mod can close.
__________________
90g Reef
30g Long Frag Tank
10g Planted
3g Pico Reef
Sillyfishies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2013, 11:13 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 4,245
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sillyfishies View Post

Tried that- no effect. I then thoroughly cleaned out the pipes - no effect. Took out the pipe again, emptied water, put back in place, works.

It was the stupid air pocket!

Fixed- mod can close.
Next time try switching the speed high and low and see if that helps. I will always have air pockets in mine until I switch between the 2 a few times and maybe even push down alityke on the intake pipe.
__________________
God is amazing. The proof is in the pudding and the pudding is everywhere
African Leaf Fish Tank Build
GodFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2013, 12:07 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Sillyfishies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Omaha,Nebraska
Posts: 3,374
Quote:
Originally Posted by GodFan View Post

Next time try switching the speed high and low and see if that helps. I will always have air pockets in mine until I switch between the 2 a few times and maybe even push down alityke on the intake pipe.
I tried that. The water level would just sink rapidly.
__________________
90g Reef
30g Long Frag Tank
10g Planted
3g Pico Reef
Sillyfishies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2013, 12:14 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Fresh2o's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 12,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sillyfishies View Post

I tried that. The water level would just sink rapidly.
Don't mean to continue this, but the same thing happened to one of my AC filters last week. Shut both off and only one restarted. Removed the intake tube and tapped the impeller and it started back up. Has not happened again since after stopping and starting it repeatedly. Perhaps it's time to clean the impeller.
__________________
I am an ALGAE farmer.
Terms of Service | Community Rules | FresH2O's Planted Tank | Fresh2o's Shrimp Tank
Fresh2o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2013, 02:00 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bshenanagins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,583
I had a similar issue a while back. It lost suction somehow. I emptied it and fill the filte halfway to force the siphon to work a little harder then slowly added water. Pulled the water in slowly but surely and haven't had an issue since. Seems when power goes off they do not always like to start up again which is quite annoying. My aqueon always starts right up WOF.
__________________
bshenanagins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2013, 07:32 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Sillyfishies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Omaha,Nebraska
Posts: 3,374
Does anyone know how to take out the motor without dumping water everywere
__________________
90g Reef
30g Long Frag Tank
10g Planted
3g Pico Reef
Sillyfishies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2013, 07:54 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 4,245
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sillyfishies View Post
Does anyone know how to take out the motor without dumping water everywere
I dont think there is a way. To me that seems to be a design flaw.
__________________
God is amazing. The proof is in the pudding and the pudding is everywhere
African Leaf Fish Tank Build
GodFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2013, 10:31 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Fresh2o's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 12,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sillyfishies View Post
Does anyone know how to take out the motor without dumping water everywere
You need to remove the intake tube and filter media then dump out any remaining water first.
Turning the motor about 90 degrees (can't remember if its clockwise or counter clockwise) and it should separate from the plastic filter housing. Removing the motor while the filter has water will result in a mess because there is a seal present where they connect.
__________________
I am an ALGAE farmer.
Terms of Service | Community Rules | FresH2O's Planted Tank | Fresh2o's Shrimp Tank
Fresh2o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2013, 03:30 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 1,432
I have a Whisper and an Aquaclear filter that has done this. You need to clean the motor. It gets gunk build up and will not turn the impeller efficiently. Unplug the filter, take out media, turn the filter upside down over the tank to empty, grab the motor and twist clockwise and pull. It will come off. Take a q tip and clean the inside of the motor. Make sure to clean the groove in the motor housing. Rinse it well to make sure all the gunk is out. Then put a little Vaseline on the rubber seal. Be careful when putting the motor back on because the rubber seal ring can pinch and cause to not seal properly. It may take a few times to get it seated right. It is a good idea to add a little water to the filter before re installing it to make sure you do not have a leak. Then put everything back together and prime with treated water. It should start right up. If there is air trapped in the impeller housing just raise the impeller shaft up and down a few times and it will get rid of it.
__________________
wildroseofky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2013, 04:02 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,270
Fwiw, if those seal rings are in fact made of solid rubber, then using Vaseline on them will cause them to deteriorate more quickly. You can buy new O rings fairly cheaply.

Any petroleum based product will rot any pure rubber product. If it's a synthetic O ring, then Vaseline is ok as a lube.
__________________

__________________
Fishfur is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.