Aquarium column build

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jlbfish

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Hubby and I just acquired to 55 gallon corner bow front glass aquariums (aquaria?) anyway we want to build cabinets around them and stack them so in the corner of our living room we have a column of 2.

He is a wood worker I am a newbie fish lover and learning. Any advice or warnings are welcome! Thanks :)

I can't offer any advice but the idea sounds awesome, So two corner tanks stacked up, is that the idea? Things I'd think about would be cleaning, exp the bottom tank, including Genral maintenance like water changes. Just make sure there's room to get into the tank. Another would be the weight, and stability, making sure they are both level etc, but I'm assuming you have thought about all the usual and want the unexpected problems? As I said sounds cool.

Yup that's the idea (for now). Lol. So far we think there would be removable panels to allow access. Luckily hubby understands physics better than I do so he hopefully will think of the obvious but he may not :) and I am a newbie so I may not think of the obvious either.

He is thinking of putting the bottom tank + stand on casters so we can slide it out for maintenance. So far that's it just brainstorming.

Attachments

• image-1691419760.jpg
    image-1691419760.jpg
    225.7 KB · Views: 121
jlbfish said:
Yup that's the idea (for now). Lol. So far we think there would be removable panels to allow access. Luckily hubby understands physics better than I do so he hopefully will think of the obvious but he may not :) and I am a newbie so I may not think of the obvious either.

He is thinking of putting the bottom tank + stand on casters so we can slide it out for maintenance. So far that's it just brainstorming.