Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-13-2006, 09:38 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2
Aquarium problem

Okay here is the deal. My aquarium for some reason has a problem with being really cloudy. It has like tiny white particles floating in it. So, I ended up just draining the whole thing then putting all new rocks and water in it. For a week it was crystal clear you couldnt even tell water was it in. Now it is a week and a half after I redid it and it is cloudy again. I have no clue what is going on. It is 20 gallon and I only have 3 fish in it. A red tailed shark, plecotomous.... or however you spell it and a spotted catfish (I cant think of the proper name). I have tried that stuff that says it will clear up your tank, it doesnt work. I have no clue what else to try. Anyone with suggestions please let me know. Email me at jshank@siue.edu if you have any suggestions or just reply to this

__________________
shanksta83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2006, 09:43 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rich311k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 12,189
Send a message via Yahoo to rich311k
Welcome to AA!!! Do you know what your ammonia and nitrite levels are?
__________________
From where the sun now stands, I will fight no more forever.
rich311k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2006, 09:50 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Zagz's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 17,107
Send a message via MSN to Zagz
Welcome to AA! New tanks are frequently cloudy. I am assuming it is a new tank? Posting your parameters will be helpful if there is anything else going on.
__________________
AA Community Rules | AA TOS

-----------
Site Administrator
Zagz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2006, 09:51 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Frederick MD
Posts: 360
Welcome.

Since your new, when asking something like this you are going to have to spill your guts relating to everthing about your tank. pH, ammonia, nitrite, nitrate levels, temperature. The type of filter, the type of substrate (gravel or sand, or other), how long the tank has been set up, and anything else you might think of.

We are only as good as the information given. (and I am not that great, but I will say that many here are!)

Hang tight, answers are close by.
__________________
20 gallon long freshwater tank
0 fish at present :-(
Plants - wisteria, compact sword, asian ambulia and java moss
bman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2006, 02:12 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ashland KY
Posts: 1,918
Send a message via Yahoo to tropicfishman
test your water, if you don't have the kits to do it, your pet shop should test a sample of your water for you, most likely, if its a new tank and you drained and refilled it agian, its gasses leaving the water, my water does the same thing, after about a week it clears up, this is the only thing i can think of since my water parameters are all normal
__________________
I love my clown loaches and red tail shark!!! lol
tropicfishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2006, 07:42 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Frederick MD
Posts: 360
I just tested the tank when I did my 40% pwc on Sunday.

pH - 7.0
Ammonia - 0
Nitrite - 0
Nitrate - 15
temp - 80 F

I did have two Bloodfin Tetras die on Sunday before the pwc. They showed nothing, and even inspecting them after I netted them out, I could not understand why they bit the dust as well. They ate up until their deaths, so it probably was not the same thing as the prego platy. The bloodfins had been in the tank for 7-8 weeks. That sucks as well because my school of 4 tetras is now only 1. How the heck can he school by himself?! I may have to make a trip to the lfs to give him a new school.
__________________
20 gallon long freshwater tank
0 fish at present :-(
Plants - wisteria, compact sword, asian ambulia and java moss
bman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2006, 12:34 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ashland KY
Posts: 1,918
Send a message via Yahoo to tropicfishman
I would buy him some friends lol tetra's get stressed when not in a school, as for your levels, the ph is good, ammonia is good, nitrites are good, nitrates I don't know about exactly, i think there ok, but not sure
__________________
I love my clown loaches and red tail shark!!! lol
tropicfishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2006, 12:45 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Lonewolfblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wenatchee, WA
Posts: 8,435
Send a message via ICQ to Lonewolfblue Send a message via Yahoo to Lonewolfblue
Sounds like you need to cycle the tank. With the fish, the ammonia is going to build up, as well as nitrite. During the cycling of a new tank, the water is usually a bit cloudy, kind of white. My 75G is like that now, and that's with no fish and I added just a small bit of ammonia. I'm not moving my cycled filter from the 55G until right before I get the plants and fish in the tank. I wouldn't add any more fish til you are cycled, as you might lose some of what you have if you don't do lots of PWC's. What kind of test kit are you using?
__________________
55G Filstar XP3 - 16" Fire Eel
75G Medium Planted - Filstar XP3 Low Light - Established Feb 2006
Lonewolfblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2006, 04:54 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ireland
Posts: 84
Are you using a dechlorinator when doing the water changes?

If you don't everytime you do a water change u will kill all your bacteria and start a new cycle.

Sorry its the only thing I can think of as the reason why ur tank won't cycle. How long are u cycling the tank now.

Get yourself a test kit for Ammonia,nitrites and nitrates and post a reading for us.

Good luck
__________________
We are a secretive bunch.
FishFingers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2006, 02:33 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2
Okay, I added some of the details of my tank to my details. I hopefully will get more of them tomorrow. I will also try to get some pictures up.

I saw in another post that someone said another persons water may be cloudy becuase of overfeeding. Could that be my problem. I never really know how much to put in so I am sure I probobly put to much.
__________________
shanksta83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PROBLEM WITH MY AQUARIUM LOOKING SMOKEY Sugzze1 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 05-20-2006 06:08 PM
Raleigh Aquarium Society - 22nd Annual Aquarium Workshop brandonberry Southern States 8 03-04-2006 07:25 PM
light bulb problem for my aquarium... proverbs Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 12 12-27-2005 03:27 AM
Saltwater aquarium problem. FesteringGob Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 07-03-2005 05:56 PM
problem? or not a problem? that is the question sirfishmaster Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 03-29-2005 11:19 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.