Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-13-2022, 04:53 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: Ochelata, OK
Posts: 24
Aquascaping

Can aquascaping your tank after itís cycle is done cause the tank to need to be cycled again.

__________________
bbryant573 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2022, 08:55 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2021
Posts: 454
Depends what extent of scaping you intend to do


The majority of the tanks beneficial bacteria that are responsible for the cycle live in the filter, but theirs also a lot of bacteria in the substrate that also helps cycle the tank.

If you were to take a fully cycled and seasoned tank and completely start over with substrate and just keep the filter intact, then no, the tank will not support the same bio load as it did before the scaping.

It’s not a complete start from scratch of course, and the full cycle will re establish much faster than a new tank. It’s still going to take some time for the tank to find it’s happy spot again so be careful with bio load and feeding
__________________
ColdKoi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2022, 10:43 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: Ochelata, OK
Posts: 24
I was just thinking about adding some rock and adding more plants. Not changing out substrate or anything like that.
__________________
bbryant573 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2022, 11:35 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2021
Posts: 454
You’ll be fine as long as whatever you choose to add to the tank doesn’t have any sort of unwanted chemicals or materials
__________________
ColdKoi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2022, 12:14 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Posts: 21
As long as it is not re-new the tank, it doesn't need to be recycled, such as adding some rocks or some plants appropriately.
__________________
nashihoude is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
api, aquascaping, cap

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Aquascaping, Introductions & Nitrogen Cycle PrettyFishies Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 4 03-23-2004 12:14 PM
Aquascaping tools Raimeiken Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 18 01-27-2004 12:03 PM
AquaScaping Looks Good??? ****UPDATED**** cj10488 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 20 09-11-2003 08:47 AM
Aquascaping Methods edgekrusher Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 09-09-2003 09:51 AM
aquascaping options bizzybeas Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 06-04-2003 04:09 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.