Backgrounds

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Dreamroper

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Hello Everyone,

Would anyone like to share what kind of background they like in their tanks? I had plain black for awhile, which really made my plants pop, and now I have one with a picture of rocks and plants. I don't think I like it much.

Thanks for any input.
D

My background is no background.

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Aquarium Advice mobile app

Attachments

• 1436489677488.jpg
    1436489677488.jpg
    201.5 KB · Views: 117
Mines black I love how all of the colors of the fish stand out.

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

Painted the back blue

Sent from my SM-G386T using Aquarium Advice mobile app

I've tried 3d backgrounds, pictures of rocks and plants etc, I prefer painting the back of the glass black or blue.

When I bought my latest tank the previous owner had painted the back black, I always had a rock and plant picture previously. I nearly didn't buy the tank because of the painted back glass, but it was a bargain. Now I would never put a picture background and always have black.

Sent from my iPad using Aquarium Advice

ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1436651528.697168.jpg

I like this blue with an underwater pattern on it. It makes the plants and neons really stand out. I used to have one with a greener tint but it made it look like my water was green.

Sent via an unladen European Swallow

Yes it does! And brightens the room.

I'm going to be trying my hand at photographing the tank after its dark out, so i may be regretting not having a black background.

I like black on regular tanks and for rimless tanks frosted window contact paper.

Are u guys using a gloss or flat black. Is there any prep being done to the glass other than degreasing. Is it best to spray or roll. What paint is being used