Barb Tank Idea

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

RDouglas50

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I'm still pretty new to aquariums and everything, but the more I learn the more fascinated I become. I sat in bed last night thinking about everything I can do to make a dream tank or the tanks I have any better... Seriously becoming an obsession :)

Anywho, back to the topic at hand. I was figuring whenever funds, and space, becomes available, I was thinking about getting a planted tank no smaller than 75gal with about 25+ barbs. I was thinking tiger barbs, black ruby barbs, and green tiger barbs for some nice color and movement to the tank. And I'm thinking of a female/male ratio of 4:1

The tank will not be for maybe at least another year, but there's no sense in not planning for something like this.

Any thoughts?

I've got a 4ft tank similar with small tigers, small rubys and large greens as well as zebra danios. Very fast moving fish, interesting at feeding time when u stick a freeze dried square of tubifex to inside of tank!!! Lacks a little colour though but think I need whiter lighting. Interesting just the same though.

Sounds like your tank is right up my alley! They'll make an absolutely beautiful tank ... the colors will be impressive. Research plants ... it makes a big difference for Barbs as well as the look .. low light plants will do just fine.
A black background with dark substrate will top it all off!

Consider including Odessa Barbs and Denison Barbs ... they'll add even more color and movement. If you can do a 75gal ... go for it ... that gives you the swimming room Barbs literally demand ... especially Denisons. Either way Barbs are so energetic.