Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
View Poll Results: Do you use a UPS for your tank?
I always have a UPS for my tanks. 1 20.00%
I've used a UPS in the past but do not have one now. 1 20.00%
There is no need to use a UPS for a tank. 2 40.00%
What's a UPS?!? 1 20.00%
Voters: 5. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-17-2013, 08:10 PM   #1
Kov
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: STL
Posts: 65
Question Battery Backup for Tank?

Does anyone use a battery backup on his or her tank? Had a good storm last night, and it got me to wondering what would happen if the power went out. I have an Uninterruptible Power Supply (UPS) on each of my computers. Wouldn't one of those work just as well for a tank's filters/heater/etc?
__________________

__________________
Kov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2013, 09:15 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
t4runnr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 297
Depending in your heater a computer UPS won't last very long. Those are intended to keep your computers on long enough to save any valuable documents and log off.

I saw on newegg.com that there is a UPS Rated for 600 watts. If if had a 150 watt heater running at full power this particular UPS would only last about 15 minutes. Then add the pump power and you lose more time. So you might be okay if your tank is larger volume because it will take longer for temp to drop to the surrounding air temp.

They are obviously bigger UPS on the market but that becomes $$$$. You might be better off buying a small $500-$800 gas generator that will continue running as long as you have fuel.
__________________

t4runnr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2013, 09:18 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bob mccoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: colorado
Posts: 1,441
look into solar battery back up . its worth the money if u have a lot of fish and tanks. i have 22 tanks and i aint taking any chances
__________________
bob mccoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 08:38 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dmolavi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sewell, NJ
Posts: 2,123
I have a 1500VA UPS on two of my four tanks (my SW and my 56 FW) to keep "life support" running...minimal pumps and heater. If I decide to get anything larger, I will probably just get a generator.
__________________
20 gallon nano-reef torn down to make way for the 40B Reef (original thread and current update).
dmolavi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
tan, tank

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.