Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-22-2013, 12:02 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Aquamandan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Holly Springs, NC
Posts: 466
Battery Powered Backup HOB Filter?

Does anybody make a battery powered backup HOB filter?

I have a 30 gallon aquarium and will be going on vacation for 8 days.
__________________

__________________
Aquamandan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 12:26 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Rivercats's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Missouri
Posts: 13,146
Not that I know of and even if they did I don't know of any battery that would last 8 days.
__________________

__________________
Rivercats 220g planted tank
Rivercats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 12:31 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
GBHammbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Green Bay, WI
Posts: 158
Never heard of a battery powered hob, but could do a battery powered air stone in a sponge filter.
__________________
_____________________________

AWWWWWWWWWWWW WHAT A RUSH!
GBHammbone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 12:48 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Aquamandan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Holly Springs, NC
Posts: 466
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rivercats View Post
Not that I know of and even if they did I don't know of any battery that would last 8 days.
Right, it would only come on if it wasn't powered by electricity. Guess its a moot point if it doesn't exist.

__________________
Aquamandan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 01:08 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Carpentersville, IL
Posts: 1,524
They do make power strips with a built in battery backup. Not sure how long the battery lasts though. They're usually listed under Computer Accessories if you're interested in learning more.
__________________
Coyne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 01:27 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: melville , ny
Posts: 8
Apc makes a nice one for around 50 bucks .... I have my fluval fx 6 and one heater on the backup side of the strip
__________________
powerby50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 11:00 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Ontario, Calif.
Posts: 44
I agree with above, search APC, I have them for my servers, and aquariums here at the house. The aquarium filters, heaters, and air pumps, can run for about 3 days on the unit I have.

They have them in all sizes depends on how big, and how long you want to go on battery.
__________________
jd99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 06:37 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Cactuspixie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Queensland Australia
Posts: 1,830
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd99 View Post
I agree with above, search APC, I have them for my servers, and aquariums here at the house. The aquarium filters, heaters, and air pumps, can run for about 3 days on the unit I have.

They have them in all sizes depends on how big, and how long you want to go on battery.
Wow, this is uncanny, as I was just googling these!
http://www.ht.com.au/part/X3860-APC-...-VA/detail.hts

An I looking at the right kind of powerboard? This one says battery backup only last 3.5 minutes at full load.
__________________
Cactuspixie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 08:55 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Ontario, Calif.
Posts: 44
You have to look at the load rating of what your connecting to it, and use the chart on the APC site to determine which one you want.

The one I have came out of our old datacenter and it would cost about 2k new and is designed for more of a load then I have connected to it. the two filters don't take that much load which is why I can get days out of it.
__________________
jd99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2013, 01:51 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: melville , ny
Posts: 8
I have this one on my system:
Amazon.com: APC BE350G UPS System: Electronics
power has only gone out for a few minutes here and there and it works great , however the fx6 only uses as much power as a 40 watt light bulb so its obviously going to run alot longer than a high power computer server
__________________

__________________
powerby50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter, hob

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.