beginner / advice required and ill fish

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mus

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hi i have just registered and am new to forums so your understanding is appretiated.

I am fairly new to fish keeping also.

Tank 54ltrs
Cycled
Nearly 2mnths old
I have a betta, swordtail, 3 odessa barbs, white cloud, and a glass bloodfin.

Have a few questions.
Brown alge is growing in my tank i have read about oxygen and have increase airstones etc, i would like to know more about why is it growing in my tank.

Also I have l sadly lost a few fish one of the recent fish was a dwarf gourmami, was breathing heavy tilting sideways etc, that was a couple of weeks ago i now have a betta which I have had from day one, that appears to be doing the same its no tilting ad much but it is breathing heavy and resting at the bottom of the tank, i had tried the peas on the dg and have done so on the betta but it seems like its getting worse by the hour. Could this be related to the dg? And by the way all the other fish are fine. As far as water changes I would like to change the water every 2 weeks 20% but because of the deaths I have changed more regularly and due to unusual behaviour i.e betta not being active.

Can frequent water changes harm the fish?

Sorry for the long post please help answer my questions. Thanks

Frequent water changes are great for fish. Clean water = happy fish! Bettas and Dwarf Gouramis are cousins. Dwarf Gouramis are prone to disease and often is not curable. What your Betta is going through might be related to what happened to the Gourami. How long did your Gourami live? I just got one a week ago, so far so good.