Beginner thread

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

brendal

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I'm fairly new at the whole really taking care of fish. I have now 1 iridescent shark who seems to have ich but it's not affecting it. It's swiming behavior is weird though, it swims upside down, runs into the tank walls, and will float upside down until i peek into the tank then it swims fast around. Then I have an angelfish who ate my goldfish, and a plecostomus that's about 4 inches long. The shark is quarantined in it's own tank which is about 3 gallons, and the other two are in a 10 gallon tank. I have one pump in the ten gallon, ick guard and aqua-safe in it. I'm currently trying to clean the protein film left in the 10 gallon thanks to my G.F. over feeding. That tank also has an air-stone in it. Any suggestions on the iridescent shark?

QUESTIONS
- How will I know if it's getting better?
- Can I introduce it into the larger tank since my angelfish ate the goldfish?
- Will the iridescent shark get as big as I've read? (3feet)
- What else should I do to make the aquarium better and safer to live in?
- The angelfish swims at the surface and floats in one spot is this normal?

Answers and any other advice is greatly appreciated. :)

So first things first.