Best Way to Clean Decorations

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

kwannon

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi everyone! I've been reading here for the last couple weeks, but this is my first actual post.

I recently inherited a 55 gal tank when I moved into a new house, and I'm starting to notice a lot of greenish algae growing on the artificial plants, rocks and driftwood, and even on the gravel.

What's the best way to clean this stuff off? I used a toothbrush before on the plants, but haven't done anything with the rock or wood yet. I'm really paranoid that I'll clean it the wrong way and contaminate my tank. I've never had a tank before so I'm pretty new to all this!

Hi,

If your tank doesn't currently have any inhabitants or if the tank is not overstocked yet, you can get some algae eating fish. I heard good things about otos(sp?). Also to help, make sure that it isn't in the path of direct sunlight or not subjected to direct sunlight for prolong periods of time. And not leaving the lights on in the tank will help reduce the algae.

Cheers :)

Just get a fun algae eater.
Even a less than common plec. The plecs get along with most other fishies. If you do get a plec, don't get a common as they can really pack on the grams and will eventually give up on the home produced green stuff. A 55 is a lot of work for an otto, but they are industrious little guys. Jeff

I have 3 otos in my 20 gal and they eat like crazy. If you got 4-5 otos for your tank, that would be perfect. Also, you could get a CAE with your 4-5 otos

[center:fefbd2b209] :smilecolros: Welcome to AA, kwannon!! :n00b: [/center:fefbd2b209]

Before you do anything, answer these Qs:
1~What are your tank parameters (ammonia, nitrites, nitrates, temp, pH)? Please give exact values.
2~How long has the tank been set up (if you know)?