Bio filter media

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

sparker24

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I am new to the whole aquarium scene. I recently purchased a 45g tank which came with an aquatech 20-40 filter. I am wondering if it is possible to change out the bio filter and put in a different media such as bio rings or something similar. I would like to keep my tank as clean and clear as possible without spending too much on filters, etc.

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

That filter will not last a very long time before it breaks on you or make a ton of noise. But it does have a bio-sponge so you don't need the bio rings.
You might want to wait a bit before you do anything to your filter. I had my 5-15 for 2 months now and I see the impeller shaft is already wearing down.

It is a noisy little thing, that's for sure! Do you have any recommendations for a better filter? It's kind of confusing when there are so many.

If your looking to stay with a hob I've had good luck with marineland(who I think make aquatech), aqueon, even my tetra whisper 30 has been around for 3 years. If you maintain the filter at all and just check on your impeller housing for debris every few months most of the cheapos will last a year or more. On the higher end side you have fluval and aquaclear. Then there are canisters....

I personally think your aquatech would be fine for a while and if your looking to increase biological filtration surface area then check out fluval biomax. They have a 2oz pouch of it made as a replacement for one of there filters that would drop right in the back of your filter.

You could always add another filter to the one you have. Fluval AquaClear models 50 or 70 should work. They are frequently recommend on this forum.