black or white sand?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Rinzy

Aquarium Advice Activist
I am getting a 135 gallon tank that I intend to set up as a room divider so it will be viewable from 3 sides. I've been debating if I should do black sand or white sand. It sounds like black will require brighter lighting but will bring out colors in the tank better...but if I do white, I have the option of buying pool filter sand for way cheaper - but do you think it would be too bright in the tank and wash everything out? I'd like to see some pics of both if you guys have any..or if you just have any comments or suggestions. thanks :flowers:

I wouldn't go with pool filter sand. I'm no expert by ANY means but from what I've heard/read pool filter sand is a very bad idea. I don't exactly remember why but there's some downsides to it. Just givin you a heads up to research it first.

I wouldn't go with pool filter sand. I'm no expert by ANY means but from what I've heard/read pool filter sand is a very bad idea. I don't exactly remember why but there's some downsides to it. Just givin you a heads up to research it first.
PFS is awesome,i have it in my 10 and my 55. it looks great and is easier to clean than gravel.

if you put a black backkground on your tank(what im planning to do)i dont think PFS will cause them to wash out

Man, I have both, black makes it seem a bit smaller, but really pulls the colors of your fish out..on the other hand, white makes a tank appear bigger, but the fish seem drowned out in all the white...there both good looking overall though..and white is easier to see when its dirty I guess lol

alLexX said:
PFS is awesome,i have it in my 10 and my 55. it looks great and is easier to clean than gravel.

if you put a black backkground on your tank(what im planning to do)i dont think PFS will cause them to wash out