Black out????

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Greenphantom

Aquarium Advice Freak
What is your guys take on blacking out aquariums I have a algae problem in my 125 gallon and have tried everything to get rid of it I have 5 live plants the rest are fake but was really wondering what effect the black out will have on the. Do you think this will help my algae problem and should I go all out and garbage bag the whole tank of or should I just leave the light off for a while. Also how long should I do it for?

Green stuff covering my walls plants deco even the live ones also its a freshwater I ve tried large pwcs and scraping it all off it just comes right back lights are only on 6 to 8 hours a day at most and I only feed twice a day also I have a api master water test kit everything is testing great good filtration aquaclear 110 magnum 350 canister filter water is fine crystal clear just that algae everywhere and in some spots it is like carpet in the substrate

It could be the feeding or the light. Do you have high light? And I'm pretty sure in most cases it isn't necessary to feed that much. What kind of fish do you have, are they young?

I'd go for it. A 5-6 day blackout solved me BGA problem..and it hasnt come back