Botia Kubotai questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

coyote1066

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello everyone. I'm a beginner and I think I've already made a couple mistakes in relation to this loach.

Mistakes:

1) Store owner recommended I buy him to assist with uneaten food during the break-in cycle of my new 20 gal tank.

2) He lives with five very hungry platies who gobble up anything resembling food.

3) He's solo.

I've had little luck finding a kubotai specific profile that covers all the bases. For the most part I've been basing my actions on the profile for yo-yo loaches. Since he wasn't a planned purchase at the time, I didn't get a chance to research in advance.

I have been able to get some helpful advice from another board but I noticed there are some loach experts (Fruitbat maybe) here that might be able to give me more species specific answers. Here's what I've done so far to help the situation out:

1) He has a great flow-through cave with plenty of cover. I can't see him if he's in there.

2) I purchased shrimp pellets today to hopefully help with feeding.

3) The filter keeps the water moving fairly quickly which I've read that they like.

So here are my questions:

1) Platies like salt. Should I forgo salt for the kubotai's sake?

2) Are there other ways I can ensure he's getting enough food? The platies bottom hunt after their meals, are they getting anything? What would the signs of starvation look like if he isn't getting enough food?

3) Obviously I need one or two more kubotais to ease his loneliness after the cycle, but will they need separate caves? Is a 20 gal, 12" x 24" tank big enough to accommodate three loaches?

4) What are their species specific water needs. Temp, GH, KH, O2, pH, etc.

5) Does the substrate have to be sand? I have small, rounded pebble-like rocks in there now.