Bottom cleaner?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Konrade

Aquarium Advice Freak
I'm a newbie to fresh, converted from saltwater. I have a 40 gallon breeder right now, it is cycled with 3 neons in it. I plan on doing a south american type tank. There are no live plants, ph is around 7. Low trates. I need a bottom feeder to clean up after my other fish who miss some flakes and other foods. I don't really like cories. I was thinking maybe a couple of banjo cats maybe? I am planning on having angels also. Any suggestions for good bottom feeders would be great?

I don't know my biotypes very well, but snails are some of the best garbage collectors. Mystery snails are my favorite to watch and they don't go crazy on the population.

I would second the notion for the pleco, they do great jobs and can live with virtually any type of fish lol

Thanks for the replies, but unfortunately my lfs's don't have any bristlenoses. They have the banjo cats for like 2.99 a piece and I really like them. Anybody have experience with them/? I also plan on adding a jewel cichlid or two, my lfs' has some extremely healthy beautiful jewels.

I'm also considering whether I need a bottom feeder. Originally I had 5 tetras, a small pleco, & a couple guppies to a 12 gallon tank. The pleco pretty much stays in his castle & never comes out, even at night. I give the pleco 1/2 an algae tab every day into his castle. The guppies obviously fed at the top & the tetras seemed to get enough drifting flakes to survive. I have never had a problem w/ ammonia build up due to every 3-4 wk PWC.