Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-10-2005, 04:05 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Mauritius Is.
Posts: 271
breeding beneficial bacteria.

hello.

do u think that if i put some pieces of sponge underneath my gravel (if i hide the sponge under my gravel) it will help develop more beneficial bacteria for the tank?

will the sponge act as medium for the beneficial bacteria boom?
__________________

__________________
amitnarain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2005, 04:06 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,620
Send a message via AIM to Puriti Send a message via MSN to Puriti Send a message via Yahoo to Puriti
sounds like it might but I'm no expert at bacteria stuff ^^;
__________________

__________________
Puriti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2005, 04:18 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
Jchillin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: New York, NY (The Big Apple)
Posts: 14,951
You are correct. The sponge will eventually become enriched with bacterial colonies. Of course, you don't need to do this, the gravel becomes just a colonized.
__________________
_________________________________
Jchillin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2005, 04:36 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Mauritius Is.
Posts: 271
Quote:
The sponge will eventually become enriched with bacterial colonies. Of course, you don't need to do this, the gravel becomes just a colonized
wont it be better to place the pieces of sponge below?
wont the concentration of beneficial bacteria be greater than that in the gravel?
__________________
amitnarain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2005, 04:42 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fluff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 11,423
The way I understand it is, every surface in the tank gets colonized so, even if you just float the sponge (this is how I do it), it will get colonized, just not as dirty as if in the gravel.
__________________
~Cindy
Fluff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2005, 04:47 PM   #6
God of primitive fishes
 
Toirtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 8,163
Send a message via MSN to Toirtis Send a message via Yahoo to Toirtis
One major caveat...if you do not have that sponge well-aerated (via an airstone underneath or some such), the only bacteria you are likely to grow in that manner will be anaerobic, and that you do not want.
__________________
G. A. Christian Bilou, Herpetologist
Founder/Director, Reptile Rescue Alberta
Past-President, Calgary Aquarium Society
www.calgaryaquariumsociety.com
Toirtis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2005, 04:49 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
Jchillin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: New York, NY (The Big Apple)
Posts: 14,951
Think of it this way...if you are adding more surface area, you will have more bacteria. Decorations are also a part of this matrix. If you bury it under the gravel, it will become colonized, just far more slowly. You can accomplish the same by adding an equal amount of gravel.

If you do this with a particular aquascape in mind (ie: a sloping gravel bed), then by all means...go for it. Though this could create an pocket of anaerobic gas.
__________________
_________________________________
Jchillin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2005, 05:20 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 7
I agree with toirtis. It really won't help you in the long run and it could cause more damage than good.
__________________
The fishinator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2005, 05:32 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Mauritius Is.
Posts: 271
ok. thanks.

what about floating the sponge?
is it also anearobic?
__________________
amitnarain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2005, 05:33 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fluff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 11,423
No, floating is fine. They are just saying burying it in the gravel is a bad idea.
__________________
~Cindy
Fluff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2005, 05:36 PM   #11
God of primitive fishes
 
Toirtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 8,163
Send a message via MSN to Toirtis Send a message via Yahoo to Toirtis
Floating is OK, but sort of unattractive....try what I do...just run an extra Aquaclear HOB (even a 'mini') full of sponges...then you always have spare, populated (much more populated than you would get with a floating sponge) media on hand.
__________________
G. A. Christian Bilou, Herpetologist
Founder/Director, Reptile Rescue Alberta
Past-President, Calgary Aquarium Society
www.calgaryaquariumsociety.com
Toirtis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2005, 05:44 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fluff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 11,423
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toirtis
Floating is OK, but sort of unattractive....try what I do...just run an extra Aquaclear HOB (even a 'mini') full of sponges...then you always have spare, populated (much more populated than you would get with a floating sponge) media on hand.
Floating has always worked well for me.
And, it's possible to have them in the tank without being seen. You'd never know I had one floating right now. You can hide them behind plants, or weight them down and hide them behind driftwood or ornaments. But, sponges in a hob filter would have the same effect.
__________________
~Cindy
Fluff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2005, 05:44 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 6,703
all my aquaclear's run 2 sponges, no carbon, so I always have spare media for seeding a new tank.
__________________
Former advisor and planted tank geek...life's moved on though.
malkore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2005, 05:47 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fluff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 11,423
Are you doing this to help seed a new tank? If so, you can use old filter pads as well.
__________________

__________________
~Cindy
Fluff is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bacteria, breed, breeding

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What medications kills beneficial bacteria? new2betas Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 10-15-2008 03:37 PM
beneficial bacteria over 2 day trip Phoenixphire55 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 08-04-2008 10:49 AM
Beneficial Bacteria Discussion Dommo Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 03-22-2008 12:27 PM
Does a UV sterilizer kill beneficial bacteria? porcelaindoll Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 7 09-24-2006 06:08 PM
question about beneficial bacteria Gordinho80 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 03-18-2005 08:10 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.