Brown Algae :(

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ScurdOfCychlidz

Aquarium Advice Regular
I've looked on the last couple pages of the forum for the same question...but didn't really find an answer...so if it was answered I apologize for the repeat!

I have had my 46 gal tank now for about 2 months...I only have 4 cichlids in it @ this time...about 2 weeks ago there was this brown "stuff" all over the tank...rocks, tubing, glass, plants...etc. So i drained about 80% of it (with use of a bucket) and cleaned it, then filled it back up...yes i'm using arizona tap water :(. Now bout 2 weeks later, there is the same stuff all over the glass, rocks, etc but now it seems like its progressing faster and faster by the day...I'm really new to the fish scene..lol and not prepared for trouble, so what is happening?! Some people say let it run its course...but I did that last time and the tank was so murky it was like hard to see the fish!

I haven't tested the water or anything like that...not sure how :oops: But any help would be appreciated!

Thanks!
__David

Well, the easy fix is to get yourself a diatom filter which will get all the algae out of the water. However, that's a somewhat costly fix.
Really for the most part all the algae is going to do is make your tank not look so nice. It looks bad but for the most part the fish don't mind it.
With Cichlids, I always have algae problems, it just happens and there is nothing I can do to make it go away (Cichlids are very dirty fish). However, getting a small pleco or two would definitely help keep the algae down.
Don't do another 80% water change. I'd never do over 50% at a time and that's only under the most dire circumstances (high ammonia and stuff like that). Algae is not one of those dire circumstances.