Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-08-2013, 07:03 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Nellynel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 71
Can you use Seachem Purigen in a Topfin filter?

Can you pack Topfin cartridge with Seachem Purigen instead of carbon?
__________________

__________________
Nellynel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2013, 08:26 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ian086's Avatar


 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Drogheda, Ireland
Posts: 3,096
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nellynel View Post
Can you pack Topfin cartridge with Seachem Purigen instead of carbon?
Yes. You can put it in any filter. I have put it in internals, hobs and externals....
__________________

__________________
Ian086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2013, 09:15 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Nellynel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian086 View Post
Yes. You can put it in any filter. I have put it in internals, hobs and externals....
Ok cool so I don't even need the carbon refills that come with cartridge frame
__________________
Nellynel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2013, 09:20 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ian086's Avatar


 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Drogheda, Ireland
Posts: 3,096
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nellynel View Post
Ok cool so I don't even need the carbon refills that come with cartridge frame
Carbon is only needed for meds or odour removal. It's an expensive water to keep your water clear. Is the cartridge big enough for a 100ml bag??
__________________
Ian086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2013, 10:09 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Nellynel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian086 View Post
Carbon is only needed for meds or odour removal. It's an expensive water to keep your water clear. Is the cartridge big enough for a 100ml bag??
Yes it's the large top fin filter. I got a 250ml bottle of the seachem for $10.99. I grabbed some aqua clear filter bags. The bottle says 250 mL teats 250 gal for six months. I have a 55gal so i guess I should put like 30 mL in each cartridge (2 top fin 30 filters) or should I use 100mL like you suggested. What do you think? I've never used this stuff. I thought carbon absorbs medication..
__________________
Nellynel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2013, 10:36 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Betta Platy Addict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 225
I use one bag for my 55 and it's enough.


Make sure you ONLY use Prime with it, because you can have chemical reactions that are toxic with other conditioners.

Above poster means carbon for meds, to remove meds after treatment
__________________
Betta Platy Addict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2013, 11:23 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Nellynel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by Betta Platy Addict View Post
I use one bag for my 55 and it's enough.

Make sure you ONLY use Prime with it, because you can have chemical reactions that are toxic with other conditioners.

Above poster means carbon for meds, to remove meds after treatment
Chemical reactions...really? I wonder if that's something leaked out by seachem get more people to by Prime.....that would be messed up. Thanks for the heads up...I'll have to research that
__________________
Nellynel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 07:17 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
bluzepher1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 201
So how much purigen should I put in my filter for a 55gal tank? Should I remove the carbon filters?
Thanks about the heads up for water conditioners
__________________
bluzepher1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 10:37 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
PerfectDepth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 607
That filter bag might not work for Purigen. The smaller particles could escape and make a mess in your tank. There are bags made specifically for Purigen.
__________________
PerfectDepth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 11:09 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Betta Platy Addict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by PerfectDepth View Post
That filter bag might not work for Purigen. The smaller particles could escape and make a mess in your tank. There are bags made specifically for Purigen.
Yes, that is a good point. Purigen comes in one small bag (for up to 100 gal I think) and the larger quantity is loose and you fill the bag. It has to be a super super fine media bag since the purigen particles are so tiny.

I'm happy with one bag in my 56 gal. You will just have to see if one is enough or if you need more.
__________________
Betta Platy Addict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 04:22 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Nellynel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by PerfectDepth View Post
That filter bag might not work for Purigen. The smaller particles could escape and make a mess in your tank. There are bags made specifically for Purigen.
Yeah i was just trying to save some cash. I guess I'll bring these bags back. Their bags look kinda heavy duty too. I was concerned that it combined with the filter bag mesh could affect water flow too.
__________________
Nellynel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 04:47 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
bluzepher1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 201
Ugh. That would explain the mess floating on the surface. I bought the bottle, no net with it. They told me to use pantyhose. I did not, don't have any hanging around.
__________________
bluzepher1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2013, 12:50 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Nellynel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluzepher1 View Post
Ugh. That would explain the mess floating on the surface. I bought the bottle, no net with it. They told me to use pantyhose. I did not, don't have any hanging around.
So what did you use?
__________________
Nellynel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2013, 03:47 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Cactuspixie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Queensland Australia
Posts: 1,830
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nellynel View Post

Chemical reactions...really? I wonder if that's something leaked out by seachem get more people to by Prime.....that would be messed up. Thanks for the heads up...I'll have to research that
No, some companies add an ingredient to their water conditioners that actually renders the purigen 'un-rechargeable'. I did this with my first bag- thought it was all good, but could never get the chlorine smell out of the purigen (I paid $24 for that 100ml Baggie). Now I use seachem's 'Safe' and have never had a problem.
Not all brands will have that effect, but since they don't list their ingredients, it can be expensive trial and error. The seachem website has all the info on it. I just can't remember lol.
__________________
Cactuspixie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2013, 07:20 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
bluzepher1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cactuspixie View Post
No, some companies add an ingredient to their water conditioners that actually renders the purigen 'un-rechargeable'. I did this with my first bag- thought it was all good, but could never get the chlorine smell out of the purigen (I paid $24 for that 100ml Baggie). Now I use seachem's 'Safe' and have never had a problem.
Not all brands will have that effect, but since they don't list their ingredients, it can be expensive trial and error. The seachem website has all the info on it. I just can't remember lol.
If the de-chlorinater is an Amine it causes the Purigen to be toxic as stated on their site.
__________________
bluzepher1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2013, 07:50 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Betta Platy Addict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluzepher1 View Post

If the de-chlorinater is an Amine it causes the Purigen to be toxic as stated on their site.
That's what I remembered reading.
__________________
Betta Platy Addict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2013, 07:51 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Betta Platy Addict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cactuspixie View Post

No, some companies add an ingredient to their water conditioners that actually renders the purigen 'un-rechargeable'. I did this with my first bag- thought it was all good, but could never get the chlorine smell out of the purigen (I paid $24 for that 100ml Baggie). Now I use seachem's 'Safe' and have never had a problem.
Not all brands will have that effect, but since they don't list their ingredients, it can be expensive trial and error. The seachem website has all the info on it. I just can't remember lol.
But this would most definitely be irritating!!!!!
__________________
Betta Platy Addict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2013, 06:29 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Nellynel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian086 View Post
Yes. You can put it in any filter. I have put it in internals, hobs and externals....
For a HOB did you pour it straight into the filter like with carbon or did you put it in a filter bag and then put the bag into the filter? Also did you have to use the seachem bag? I was gonna try done aquaclear bags but I can't find how many microns their bag is. Seachem says the bag has to be 180 microns.
__________________
Nellynel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2013, 07:49 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ian086's Avatar


 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Drogheda, Ireland
Posts: 3,096
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nellynel View Post
For a HOB did you pour it straight into the filter like with carbon or did you put it in a filter bag and then put the bag into the filter? Also did you have to use the seachem bag? I was gonna try done aquaclear bags but I can't find how many microns their bag is. Seachem says the bag has to be 180 microns.
It definitely needs to be in a filter bag of some kind. You could try ebay or amazon for the micron bags. The last thing you want is those tiny beads all over your tank. If you can't find those bags the only other real option is to buy the Seachem bags. You could also try the internet for those, maybe someone might be selling them cheap. They are quite pricey for a bag. I have heard of a few people using pantyhose. I'm not recommending them because I haven't used them with the purigen but you could research it on here, start a thread. It would certainly be the cheapest option. Just make sure they are brand new, unwashed pantyhose....
__________________
Ian086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2013, 08:52 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Nellynel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian086 View Post
It definitely needs to be in a filter bag of some kind. You could try ebay or amazon for the micron bags. The last thing you want is those tiny beads all over your tank. If you can't find those bags the only other real option is to buy the Seachem bags. You could also try the internet for those, maybe someone might be selling them cheap. They are quite pricey for a bag. I have heard of a few people using pantyhose. I'm not recommending them because I haven't used them with the purigen but you could research it on here, start a thread. It would certainly be the cheapest option. Just make sure they are brand new, unwashed pantyhose....
Ok. I think I'll just order a bag from Amazon. I got one the other day from a PS for $14. I need another one and don't know about the pantyhose thing. Thanks
__________________

__________________
Nellynel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.