Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-29-2013, 08:31 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
momma cow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: new jersey
Posts: 17
canster filter doesnt fit under tank

Hi I just got my new marineland c530 canster but it doesnt fit under the tank can i put it on the side of the tank Should I get longer hoses so that they go around the back of tank or just leave them on side

__________________

__________________
momma cow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 09:40 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ian086's Avatar


 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Drogheda, Ireland
Posts: 3,096
Quote:
Originally Posted by momma cow View Post
Hi I just got my new marineland c530 canster but it doesnt fit under the tank can i put it on the side of the tank Should I get longer hoses so that they go around the back of tank or just leave them on side

I had the same problem with my filter, until I changed the stand, not because of the filter though!!!. Do you mean put it on the ground, beside the tank and have the pipes inlet/outlet on one end of the tank??
__________________

__________________
Ian086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 10:53 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
momma cow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: new jersey
Posts: 17
yes it will fit on floor on side of tank but i would like to run the hoses around the back instead of haveing everything at one end of the tank in and out tubes
but tubes are to short to run along back so i guess i have to get longer ones will that work
__________________
momma cow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 09:01 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Mudfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: VA
Posts: 925
Send a message via Yahoo to Mudfrog
Yes, you can run the filter to the side of the tank. I used to do the same thing. If you need longer hoses hit up lowes or home depot.

__________________
125g - FX5 - CF500UV - Bichirs - Catfish - Clown Loaches - Oddballs

40g Breeder - Fluval 306 - HW402B - Grow Out Tank - Clown Loaches - Leopard Leaf Fish
Mudfrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 09:04 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hobgob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,893
Make sure you get the same diameters of hose though inside and out. But less tubbing means better flow. Something I learnt with my ehiem
__________________
Hobgob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 11:25 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
momma cow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: new jersey
Posts: 17
Mudfog I just want to use a longer intake hose I see your filter on side did you use two longer hoses where did you place your intake tube
__________________
momma cow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 11:41 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Mudfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: VA
Posts: 925
Send a message via Yahoo to Mudfrog
Quote:
Originally Posted by momma cow View Post
Mudfog I just want to use a longer intake hose I see your filter on side did you use two longer hoses where did you place your intake tube
This filter came with a decent length of hose so I was able to use that. The intake is in the corner nearest to the filter, the spray bar also exits on that side of the tank. I had an AC110 going on the opposite side so I only needed the filtration for that side of the tank.

It would definitely be easier on the pump if you made the intake hose longer than the return hose.
__________________
125g - FX5 - CF500UV - Bichirs - Catfish - Clown Loaches - Oddballs

40g Breeder - Fluval 306 - HW402B - Grow Out Tank - Clown Loaches - Leopard Leaf Fish
Mudfrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 11:45 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ian086's Avatar


 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Drogheda, Ireland
Posts: 3,096
Personally I would just leave it beside the tank, on the floor and keep all the pipework in one corner. I think it looks better and you have the bonus of not having pipes at each end, better flow and shorter hoses to clean!!!
__________________
Ian086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 11:51 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Mudfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: VA
Posts: 925
Send a message via Yahoo to Mudfrog
How big of a tank is this? If it's 4 feet or more there will not be much water movement unless it's ran across, or at the very least adding a powerhead.
__________________
125g - FX5 - CF500UV - Bichirs - Catfish - Clown Loaches - Oddballs

40g Breeder - Fluval 306 - HW402B - Grow Out Tank - Clown Loaches - Leopard Leaf Fish
Mudfrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 10:06 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
momma cow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: new jersey
Posts: 17
Its a 90 gal tank I have 2 ac ll0 on it now I though puting the intake house in middle of tank would be best Will try playing around with it
__________________
momma cow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 01:52 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Mudfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: VA
Posts: 925
Send a message via Yahoo to Mudfrog
If I were you I would put the canister on one side and leave one AC110 on the other. That has worked well for me in the past.
__________________

__________________
125g - FX5 - CF500UV - Bichirs - Catfish - Clown Loaches - Oddballs

40g Breeder - Fluval 306 - HW402B - Grow Out Tank - Clown Loaches - Leopard Leaf Fish
Mudfrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter, tan, tank

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.