change filter media before cycle completes

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

agentgreen

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
so i was at the pet store the other day, and noticed on the back of the filter media i was looking at, that you should change your filter every 2-4 weeks...I'm still cycling, and its been about 3 weeks now....should i wait to change out my filter media until my tank has cycled? I'm just thinking about all the bacteria that might have already formed on the filter....what is your normal filter change out times?

Filter companies would just LOVE for you to do that because it keeps you spending money :) The truth it, all you need to do is rinse the media in used tank water, and put it right back in the filter. Then, you get to save a lot of money, and, you keep your beneficial bacteria. I have been using the same media for 8 months now, maybe a bit longer. I am just now starting to think about replacing it because the sponge is breaking down.

It is a good idea to give it a rinse once a week or so to keep it clear, and follow the advice above. While you are cycling, though, don't do anything with the filter at all. I have seen cycles come to a screeching halt from gravel vacs and filter maintenance done during the cycle.

that's what i thought....

now i can say to my gf HAHA! since i told her that, and she said no! hehe

may i add to rinse it in tank water? once a week? haven't replaced anything but the charcoal in mine in over 4 months now

hrmm, i just thought of something...i use a python to do water changes....would it be safe for me to rinse out the filter in the water that is flowing out of the faucet end when i switch the python to vacuum?