Changed my stock

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

xfactor6699

Aquarium Advice Addict
So this is what I want
1 male betta
6-8 harlequin rasborias
2 german rams (male and female)
2-3 adf
2 amano shrimp
....and I was wondering if I could do orange laser corys and how many...the tank is a 40g hex

I have heard mixed reviews about bettas with shrimp. Some people say the bettas eat shrimp. I have no experience with it though. Other than than, I personally think your list looks ok. Although, I have never tried a betta with rams...

I'm not sure, it sounds like a hit-miss stocking list. Lots of people have had success with bettas and amanos. IME my female betta imbellis and my three GBRs get along fine.

I have a betta with 6 ghost shrimp... He likes to chase them alot but I don't know about eating them... They are pretty big and fast... They hide alot so IMO it's kind of hard to really judge whether shrimp are being eaten or not.

My daughter has amano shrimp in with her betta, he just ignores them, he's more interested in the snail lol.

drop the betta and up the amano shrimp to 6-10. if you really want a center piece then look into getting a Groumie of some sort ( perferably dwarf )

The problem with hex tanks is that while there's more height there's less length, so IDK if your cories will have enough of a bottom to live on...could you give us a pic of what it looks like? If it's wide enough then you could add some cories.

alLexX said:
its a pretty high tank,and there not the best swimmers,so even though its not filled all the way they will have trouble getting air,and they will be outcompeted for food