Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-14-2005, 02:27 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Mass
Posts: 119
Changing over from filtered water to tap, anyone disagree?

I was curious if i would harm my fish if i decioded to switch over from using filtered water to using tap water as i want to buy a python cause i heard there much easier to do water changes and gravel cleaning. Has anyone ever hooked up there python to a filtered water system, or is it ok that i will be switching to tap? I figured i would ask before i spent the 50 bucks. I plan on using seachem prime for my declorantor.

Let me know what you guys think.
__________________

__________________
Franco7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2005, 02:47 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 751
Granted I have only been doing this a short time, so take what I say with a grain of salt, but I have been using only tap water and it works just fine. In the 2 months or so I have been on this board, I have seen numerous posts regarding hooking up a python to the faucet and using water right out of the tap. I can tell you, it makes water changes a snap. And since I recently had to do 4 50%+ changes in just over a 24-hour period, it made my life a lot easier. What I have done, upon recommendation of others here, is:
1. Suck out the desired amount of water using the python
2. When I am close to the desired amount, I begin checking and adjusting the temperature of the tap water to make sure it will match the tank temp.
3. When I get to the desired level, I switch the direction of the water flow and start adding water
4. Immediately after changing the direction of the water flow in #3, I add my dechlorinator (Prime) so that it dechlorinates the water as it flows in.

Using this method, I actually like doing water changes because they are so easy, and because it is fun to see the fish come out and frolic in the flow of incoming water (the loaches especially seem to like it a lot).
__________________

__________________
bosk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2005, 03:33 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rich311k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 12,189
Send a message via Yahoo to rich311k
I have been using tap water for years. Leave a cup out overnight and test it. if you have no strange readings then you should have no problems using it.
__________________
From where the sun now stands, I will fight no more forever.
rich311k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2005, 04:16 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Mass
Posts: 119
Rich no strange readings as in doing the regular nitrite, nitrates, ammonia, ph, and alll that stuff or what do you mean?

Bosk thanks for the info, i only been doing this for about a year now myself, and doing the whole bucket thing is just not working anymore lol, so i heard the python was the way to go. Just wanted to make sure the fish won't react to it seeing where i been using filrered water.
__________________
Franco7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2005, 04:17 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fishyfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 11,964
I agree. As long as you don't have high readings of Ammonia or Nitrates, then I think you'll be fine. But if your water source uses Chloramines in their water, then you will show levels of Ammonia so keep that in mind.
__________________
Vote for Aquarium Advice

29 Gallon Lake Malawi Fry
55 Gallon Community
150 Gallon Lake Malawi Cichlid
Fishyfanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2005, 04:30 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 751
I guess another thing to possibly keep in mind, and I'm just speculating here, is that there may be a difference in mineral content or other things that we don't typically test for. So maybe to help the fish gradually get used to the different water souce, you might want to start off with smaller, more frequent pwc's. Just a thought. I don't know if it would help, but I know it certainly couldn't hurt.
__________________
bosk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2005, 04:31 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Mass
Posts: 119
Fishyfanatic, isnt that why you need to add declorinator to it, so basicly i need to test my tap water first before i decide to get a python and switch over. So if i test my tap and it shows high ammonia or nitrates, that means i can't use it?
__________________
Franco7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2005, 04:34 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Mass
Posts: 119
Right introduce a little bit of tap water first, like anther words don't do a huge water change with all tap. My reason for this major switch is because my tank has high nitrates right now and dealing with buckets i can't keep up with water changes of big mass, it take way to long. So i guess like you said maybe introduce it little at a time at first.
__________________
Franco7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2005, 04:36 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rich311k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 12,189
Send a message via Yahoo to rich311k
Quote:
Originally Posted by Franco7
Rich no strange readings as in doing the regular nitrite, nitrates, ammonia, ph, and alll that stuff or what do you mean?
That is what I meant. most tap has no ammonia, nitrite or nitrate.
__________________
From where the sun now stands, I will fight no more forever.
rich311k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2005, 04:43 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Mass
Posts: 119
ok i will do that when i get home, take a cup let it sit and then test it.
__________________
Franco7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2005, 09:54 PM   #11
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Whitby, Ont,Canada
Posts: 2,764
Tap water that has chloramine in it may register ammonia when tested.
__________________
Join a fish club. Don't have one in your area? Start one.
BillD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2005, 10:05 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Mass
Posts: 119
ok so heres my tap readings, let me know if im safe using tap and putting in prime.

nitrates- 0
ph- 7.1 thats high .1
high range ph- 7.5
ammonia- .50 thats high, but is that cause of chloramine
nitrite - 0
__________________
Franco7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2005, 10:10 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rich311k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 12,189
Send a message via Yahoo to rich311k
Try adding smoe dechlor and test ammonia again. Your ph is 7.1, the high test starts at 7.5 dont bother with it. .1 to high is nothing to worry about or do anything about. Your water is just about perfect.
__________________
From where the sun now stands, I will fight no more forever.
rich311k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2005, 02:00 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fishyfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 11,964
Franco- I meant to test for the levels so in case your tap had high levels of Nitrates or Ammonia already in the water than it may be a good idea to keep doing the bucket brigade with the filtered. Sorry if I was unclear. I think you will be fine going with just pure tap water. It is like purchasing fish from a lfs that does not use the same water company that you use. They will have different mineral contents than your tank not to mention pH levels. As long as they are acclimated to the water, it will be fine. We purchase fish 250 miles away and bring them home and they are perfectly fine. I wouldn't worry about it.

And I agree with Rich, your pH is perfectly fine. I would love to have it that low for my community tank. The ammonia reading is because of the chloramines.
__________________
Vote for Aquarium Advice

29 Gallon Lake Malawi Fry
55 Gallon Community
150 Gallon Lake Malawi Cichlid
Fishyfanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2005, 02:02 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fishyfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 11,964
Also, the dechlorinator will not remove Ammonia or Nitrates unless the ammonia reading is due to chloramines (which in your case it is, but .5 is not a level to be concerned with in regards to ammonia caused by chloramines).
__________________
Vote for Aquarium Advice

29 Gallon Lake Malawi Fry
55 Gallon Community
150 Gallon Lake Malawi Cichlid
Fishyfanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2005, 02:29 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Lonewolfblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wenatchee, WA
Posts: 8,435
Send a message via ICQ to Lonewolfblue Send a message via Yahoo to Lonewolfblue
hi again....

If the water source uses chloramines, you might see a little ammonia, but is a very small amount. The biofilter should take care of that. Also, the dechlorinator (Prime) will get rid of the chloramine so it doesn't kill off the bacteria or cause problems for the fish. Even with going from filtered water to straight tap, I don't see any problem myself, whether it's several small PWC's or fewer larger PWC's. The main concern is getting the ammonia, nitrites, and nitrates down, and the best way for that is 3-4 large PWC's, and continue regular daily PWC's til you are cycled.

Also, with using the Python, which I will be glad when I get mine, point number 2 that bosk1 put out is probably the most important point for someone new to the Python, and that's getting the right temp going into the tank. Everything else either the Prime or the biofilter should take care of when cycled.
__________________
55G Filstar XP3 - 16" Fire Eel
75G Medium Planted - Filstar XP3 Low Light - Established Feb 2006
Lonewolfblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2005, 02:54 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 751
I figured that one out pretty quick. Not saying my method is perfect. It may still need some fine tuning. But that's how I've been doing it so far, and it seems to work great.
__________________
bosk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2005, 11:06 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Mass
Posts: 119
Ok so i added some declhor to my ammonia test and theres no more it brought it right down like you guys said, so that hopfully means i'll be good to go like you guys said.

ya my tank was and is cycled, it just has high nitrates cause i think it's a mix of to much feeding(which i cut down to 1 time every 2 days or so, so i can bring it down) and not enough water changes( i had to fill up 3 5 gallon jugs and let them sit a little because my flitered water doesnt have hot and cold, so im really not worryed about the water temp obviously ill try to match it as close as i can, but i was dumping in colder water before from flitered) So i figure if i get python it will make it alot easier and im trying ti get my friend to do the same, but he says he doesnt trust it cause of the whole how do you know how many gallons your takeing out to how much prime to put in, and the whole 9 yards. I tryed to tell him and i made hom sign up for AA so maybe he will, cause i was like read everybody does a water change and jsut adds prime for the whole tank, atleast thats what i get out of it.

Thanks guys, keep the concerns and tips coming.
__________________
Franco7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2005, 11:17 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fishyfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 11,964
I do just that Franco. The python is the best invention for water changes. After removing the water with the python I add the new water and put enough Prime in the tank for the entire tank volume. Considering how little Prime you have to use, it's not a big deal. Kudos to you for taking the plunge!
__________________
Vote for Aquarium Advice

29 Gallon Lake Malawi Fry
55 Gallon Community
150 Gallon Lake Malawi Cichlid
Fishyfanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2005, 11:33 AM   #20
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Mass
Posts: 119
What plunge, im hooping its going to be a success not a plunge lol
__________________

__________________
Franco7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
changing, filter

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Brita filtered water: Ph 7, softens water, remove bad stuff Blucat Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 03-21-2005 10:12 PM
Is dechlorinator a must for filtered water? JenNewbie Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 11-14-2004 04:42 PM
changing water without changing temperature hashbaz Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 10-31-2004 10:51 PM
R/O filtered drinking water for water changes? thetmaxx Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 09-06-2004 01:12 AM
Filtered Water toddwess Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 6 07-24-2003 04:39 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.