Cheap alternatives to adding structure to tanks?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Stix_oz

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi all, i'm looking for some cheaper alternative for adding structure to my new 4ft tank. I'm very new at this and my tank is almost cycled and ready for fish but other than a couple of small rocks and 2 small plants my tank looks baren!

Rocks and logs and crazily expensive in fish shops and i have quiet a current in my tank, turning over my water 10-12 times an hour makes it hard for any tall plants.

There has to be some cheaper alternatives, any suggestions?

Thanks in advance

Stix

You can collect driftwood yourself. There are many threads on the subject, here and at the DIY forum. Basically, you need to collect from a wilderness area that is free from pollution, and collect hardwood species, preferably sunken ones from lakes & ponds so the wood is already waterlogged. Then it is a matter of cleaning & boiling so you don't introduce baddies into your tank. If that is too much work, try looking online at ebay or aquabid. Prices are better than LFS.

You can also build rock structures yourself. Collect the rocks yourself if you can (as long as the source is clean & you clean the specimen well), or buy it from a landscaping place (get rocks/slate meant for ponds). Then build structures using aquarium safe silicone. <It will be much cheaper if you can find that in the hardware store ... you need ones that says 100% silicone, without color or mildewcide, & preferably saying "safe for aquarium".>

Big pot! ;)

Seriously, if your wood is too big to fit, then the next best is to put the wood in a big container (may be the bathtub) & pour boiling water over it to cover. Won't be as good as real boiling as you don't get the contact time before the water cools off, so you might want to do that a few times.