Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-01-2022, 02:50 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2022
Posts: 9
I noticed that my city adds chloramine to the water, and ammonia comes out at 0.3 ppm. Is a fish-in cycle still ok?

__________________
bettaman95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2022, 03:51 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Aiken Drum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Derbyshire, UK
Posts: 3,981
Most water conditioners will also treat chloramine, but check on this with whatever water conditioner you are using.

Water conditioners that treat chloramine do this by breaking the chemical bond in the chloramine into chlorine and ammonia. The water conditioner will then treat the chlorine leaving the ammonia which under normal circumstances is processed out by the nitrogen cycle.

So you are correct that this makes fish in cycles using chloramine treated water more problematic. However you can absolutely still do a fish in cycle with chloramine treated water. 0.3ppm ammonia is essentially zero and of no risk of harm to fish. While this ammonia will be in addition to whatever your fish produce, you can still maintain safe water parameters through regular water changes. Might be a bit more work but you can do it. Also some water conditioners like prime will detoxify the ammonia for a couple of days so this gives you a safety net too.

Many people keep fish in chloramine treated tap water, and i would expect most of those did fish in cycles.
__________________
Aiken Drum
Community Moderator
Aiken Drum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2022, 11:50 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2021
Posts: 385
It really shouldn’t pose any issue at all other than a little more water changes. Just keep in mind that if .3ppm is what’s coming out of the tap you don’t want to be changing 90% water every day trying to get it under .5ppm


Once the tanks established, .3ppm from the tap is not an issue. The tank should be able to cycle that out in a few hours then it’s all over till the next water change
__________________
ColdKoi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
strange disease/necrosis, and FREAKIN chloramine!!!! Mako Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 4 08-25-2004 07:02 PM
How much Chloramine in DC tapwater? chrisethompson Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 07-23-2004 02:09 AM
Does an RO/DI filter remove Chlorine and Chloramine? cybercron Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 04-11-2004 02:51 PM
Favorite Chloramine Remover? JeffNebraska Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 15 03-24-2004 09:13 PM
Will AC remove Chloramine? jratuszn Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 01-25-2004 01:40 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.