Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-02-2005, 10:33 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 25
Cleaning the new bio-filter media

I just got 4 new fish (platies), put them to the clean quarantine tank with brand new Aqua-Clear filter. The filter had bio-media - little white cylinders. I rinsed them several times and put in the filter. Almost instantly the tank water was milky cloudy from media particles. Panicked, I took the filter of, rinsed it, inserted the floss with "Aqurel F" clearing liquid. The water is cleared, but the biomedia which I keep rinsing in a jar, doesn't get cleaner. The white "powder" appears every time I rinse it. How do you clean the filter bio-media before using it? Or how many more times should I rinse it, so it doesn't soil the water any more?
Thank you for any suggestions.
__________________

__________________
Nautilus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2005, 12:32 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fishyfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 11,964
I noticed a slight white water coming from my filter when I first used the ceramic rings but it cleared up by itself. I wouldn't worry about it unless it lasts for more than a day or so. For future reference, the clearing liquid that you use, if I were you I wouldn't use it. We've had some in the past and it works to clear your water, but it is not necessary. Adding unnecessary chemicals can actually harm your fish.
__________________

__________________
Vote for Aquarium Advice

29 Gallon Lake Malawi Fry
55 Gallon Community
150 Gallon Lake Malawi Cichlid
Fishyfanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2005, 10:24 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 25
Thank you, Fishy, for reply.
My concern is whether or not this"powder" is going to harm the gills of my fish. What is your opinion about it?
__________________
Nautilus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2005, 11:28 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
severum mama's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: GA
Posts: 10,297
It will be fine. I have 2 Aquaclear filters myself and haven't found this to be a problem. So, are you planning on cycling this tank with fish? If your filter is brand new then your fish will have to survive a cycle. The ammonia and nitrite will be much more toxic to your fish than ceramic dust. If this is your QT tank, does that mean you have another tank that is cycled? If so, I would add the platies and the new filter to your cycled tank. Your platies won't have to cycle a new tank, and in a few weeks there will be enough bacteria in your new filter so that you could pull it off of your cycled tank and put it on your QT tank- this would be much less stressful on any fish you put in your QT. JMO
severum mama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2005, 01:21 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fishyfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 11,964
I second what Severum said.
__________________
Vote for Aquarium Advice

29 Gallon Lake Malawi Fry
55 Gallon Community
150 Gallon Lake Malawi Cichlid
Fishyfanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2005, 07:38 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 25
Thank everyone for reply.
Severumama, you are right, the cycle is dangerous, but I cannot put my platies in the main tank, because I quarantine them. They will stay in QT for 2 weeks. To avoid the cycle, I will add "Bio-Spira" to the filter, as soon as the white powder will be washed off. Or put some of the bio rings from the old tank to the new filter.
__________________
Nautilus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2005, 11:21 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fishyfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 11,964
Sounds good Nautilus. I'm glad that you are using the QT. BTW, a good way to not have to go through the cycling of the QT is to keep the filtration unit for the QT in the main tank until you need to QT a fish. Then boom, instant cycle.
__________________

__________________
Vote for Aquarium Advice

29 Gallon Lake Malawi Fry
55 Gallon Community
150 Gallon Lake Malawi Cichlid
Fishyfanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bio, clean, cleaning, filter, filter media, media

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
changing cleaning filter media peaceablegarden Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 5 10-16-2008 10:27 AM
Substitute bio filter media for HOB? soytnly Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 10 04-16-2008 09:08 PM
Filter cleaning and media filtration Taelen Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 8 01-17-2007 08:51 AM
Filter Media Cleaning Question amahler Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 06-01-2005 10:43 PM
Cleaning Filter Media Grant R Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 13 12-04-2002 11:35 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.