Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 02-03-2005, 05:27 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Cleaning the tank

I am kind of new to this and I was just wondering when do you give your tank its first water change. I have probably had my tank for a little over a month now. I have 10 fish in a 35 gallon tank. I bought the Bio Spiro stuff to and was wondering when to clean and how much do I take out? Thanks in advance for the advice.

Old 02-03-2005, 05:32 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist

what are the water parameters? Usually a small pwc weekly or biweekly is enough to keep the water parameters good depending on your types of fish, the bioload, and filtration in the tank.

Old 02-03-2005, 05:39 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic

It does depend on tank parameters but I would say changing 7-10 gallons of water out of your tank by using a gravel vac every two weeks would be about right.
What type of fish do you have?
My community tank which is understocked really only needs a water change every month but my african tank absolutely couldn't go more than two weeks, and when I had it overstocked when I added my channel cat I had to do it every week. It depends on a variety of factors.
Old 02-03-2005, 05:55 PM   #4

I am just worried that it hasn't even completely cycled yet. I have a nice filter that is more than enough for my tank and it is a community tank that has 3 angels, 5 barbs, 3 cory cats, and a pleco. The levels of my tank were just tested recently and I just got them just right to have the more fragile fish like the angels. I don't want to mess up anything by cleaning too soon.
Old 02-03-2005, 06:00 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic