Cloudy (and possibly toxic??) water

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

micropudding

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi my name's Catherine!! I joined because I really love aquariums and I wanted to be sure I'm doing everything right since I'm a newbie to all of this...

Anyway, I got a 14 gallon aquarium for my 19th birthday so naturally I did a bunch of research on how to set it up properly. I rigorously rinsed the gravel/decorations/etc and treated the water, adjusted the temp. The first couple of days, the water was so clear that it looked like there wasn't any water in the tank. The day after it suddenly got a whitish haze. It's been about a month now and the haze hasn't gone away. It doesn't lessen up with water changes either.

I used Prime to condition it and followed the directions on the Stability bottle to help start up the cycle. I'm not sure if it's working. My filter is a funky color but I'm not sure if it's because of my gravel or if it's a bacteria culture.

Another problem is that my tap water is naturally really toxic?? It has a high PH and has a lot of ammonia and nitrate. I probably sound dumb to all of you advanced guys but, I eventually want to be like that too!! I'm not really sure on how to fix any of this and it's kind of frustrating me. Am I doing something wrong? The type of fish I want to have are Glofish (zebra danios). I know they're super hardy but I don't want them to suffer either...

Attachments

• WP_000160.jpg
    WP_000160.jpg
    87.2 KB · Views: 62
  • WP_000159.jpg
    WP_000159.jpg
    182.5 KB · Views: 71
Firstly cloudy water is a sign of bacteria bloom and is a normal symptom in cycling tanks so I wouldn't stress there.