Confused about a filter issue.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Mb102593

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hey guys, i read alot about this site and I just had to join it ! I had a question about my filter. Now i know the filters that come with a kit setup isn't all that great. However mine has been running for about 2 weeks now. I really want to get a better filter becaue in the long run, i want my fishes to be more satisfied. Now the question comes to should i wait til the cycle is over to get a new one, but at the same time the bacteria needs to be in there, and with a new filter i would have to start all over ! any suggestions? i'm a newbie at this stuff so sorry if it is a dumb question.

Mb102593 said:
Hey guys, i read alot about this site and I just had to join it ! I had a question about my filter. Now i know the filters that come with a kit setup isn't all that great. However mine has been running for about 2 weeks now. I really want to get a better filter becaue in the long run, i want my fishes to be more satisfied. Now the question comes to should i wait til the cycle is over to get a new one, but at the same time the bacteria needs to be in there, and with a new filter i would have to start all over ! any suggestions? i'm a newbie at this stuff so sorry if it is a dumb question.

I would get the new filter asap, but its just me. It would be especially good if you could transfer all the media from the old filter to the new one. Which filter do you have?

You could add the new one to the tank and use them both. Then a couple of weeks after the cycle is complete remove the old one. Just watch for mini cycles. Or you could leave them both running on the tank. My 17g has two filters.