Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-30-2017, 03:51 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 51
Considering adding some loaches

I'm considering adding a school of loaches to my 55 gallon. My concern is my substrate. I'm using Eco-complete. Is this fine enough for the loaches. I would like for them to help turn the substrate. At the front of my tank where the water column meets the substrate essentially there is quite a lot of algae that I can't get to with the algae scrubber. I was hoping the loaches will help with that problem.

Also how often are you out there with planted tanks dosing fertilizers? I'm using Seachem Flourish, Excel, and Iron. I was dosing the "carbon" daily but it seems to have made the algae worse. So now I'm consider running CO2 rather than the liquid carbon.
__________________

__________________
1HellerofaGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2017, 07:03 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
AliSab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 104
Eco complete is a soil type substrate isn't it? I use flourite sand and my loaches are happy with it.

Do some good research in to the type of Loach you want. I got a school of yoyos with the same idea as yours (actually it's part of the reason I switched to sand... So they could dig around in it..) and what I've observed is that this particular Loach doesn't care for playing in the sand.

Flourish excel of put in high doses will get rid of algae. What is your lighting like? Lots of excess light usually means lots of algae. I use a high dose of excel and have never had a problem with algae before, and I'm running a double ballast lighting fixture with two t8 advertised for growth and colour.
__________________

__________________
AliSab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2017, 07:38 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Fresh2o's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 12,863
Not sure if loaches are appropriate for dealing with algae in the manner that you have described. As for issues with loaches' barbels with EcoComplete, I've read that it is fine though sand is almost always preferred.
I have a Planted tank and switched from using a combo of Seachem Flourish Comprehensive + API Leaf Zone to Green Leaf Aquariums' PPS-Pro System (its a set of dry fertilizers you mix with water). Its is dosed daily and is quite economical. I occasionally use Seachem Excel for spot treating black beard algae. It is a "carbon source" for plants (though that may be up in the air) and it will not make an algae situation worse. I started off with DIY yeast based CO2 and then moved on to a pressurized setup.
As for the algae on the glass below the substrate line, use an old credit card to scrape it off.
__________________
I am an ALGAE farmer.
Terms of Service | Community Rules | FresH2O's Planted Tank | Fresh2o's Shrimp Tank
Fresh2o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2017, 04:07 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cumberland, MD
Posts: 2,444
A bristlenose Ancistrus would be the best bet for cleaning up algae.
__________________
toddnbecka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2017, 06:50 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by toddnbecka View Post
A bristlenose Ancistrus would be the best bet for cleaning up algae.
Is that a type of pleco?
__________________
1HellerofaGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2017, 06:53 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by AliSab View Post
Eco complete is a soil type substrate isn't it? I use flourite sand and my loaches are happy with it.

Do some good research in to the type of Loach you want. I got a school of yoyos with the same idea as yours (actually it's part of the reason I switched to sand... So they could dig around in it..) and what I've observed is that this particular Loach doesn't care for playing in the sand.

Flourish excel of put in high doses will get rid of algae. What is your lighting like? Lots of excess light usually means lots of algae. I use a high dose of excel and have never had a problem with algae before, and I'm running a double ballast lighting fixture with two t8 advertised for growth and colour.
My light is fairly low. I'm using a Finnex I believe it's called a Stingray. I had considered adding a Finnex 24 planted +
__________________
1HellerofaGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2017, 06:54 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by AliSab View Post
Eco complete is a soil type substrate isn't it? I use flourite sand and my loaches are happy with it.

Do some good research in to the type of Loach you want. I got a school of yoyos with the same idea as yours (actually it's part of the reason I switched to sand... So they could dig around in it..) and what I've observed is that this particular Loach doesn't care for playing in the sand.

Flourish excel of put in high doses will get rid of algae. What is your lighting like? Lots of excess light usually means lots of algae. I use a high dose of excel and have never had a problem with algae before, and I'm running a double ballast lighting fixture with two t8 advertised for growth and colour.
How high a dose of Excel are you using. I have Excel I'll try dosing that to rid of some of the algae growth
__________________

__________________
1HellerofaGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
loach, loaches

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Considering hillstream loaches TMRC Exotics Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 37 01-21-2016 03:17 AM
Considering adding dwarf cichlids to a 27 gallon Midnighttang Cichlid Discussion 19 06-20-2012 12:15 AM
Considering Adding One Betta... Ideas? saa5886 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 09-05-2010 11:39 AM
considering adding apistos: good idea or bad idea? SeymourFRESH Cichlid Discussion 17 11-06-2006 09:49 PM
Need Some Expert advice on my tank im considering! d9hp Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 9 10-28-2002 11:35 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.