Could I add more to this tank (20g)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Tropical

Aquarium Advice FINatic
I have a 20 long with 8 neon tetras and 1 GBR. I was wondering if I could add more fish to it. It's been set up for over a year. I was thinking of adding some rummy nose tetras, some gold neons, a pearl gourami, or some pymgy or panda corys. I haven't really looked into these options, they were just ideas.

im not an expert but cories would probably be a good choice cause they would stay near the bottom of the tank.

Yea id say you could ad som tetras in there at least 3-4 because they like to school

I checked out Aqadvisor and they said I was only 42% stocked. I'd only ever use that as a basic guideline, but it seems I can add more fish.

Can anyone think of yellow tetras other then the lemon tetra? I think some yellow would really add some contrast.

try the glow-light tetras they are orange which is close to yellow. also I think you should only add one more school of tetras and you would be stocked

I'm thinking either 6 rummy nosed tetras or 5 panda corys. Comments?

YYou could try to get some black neon tetras to school with your neon tetras

I was never a fan of the black neons, they are a little too plain for my taste.

I'd go with panda cories because they are pretty active too and they also eat the leftover foods on the bottom.

Tropical said:
I was never a fan of the black neons, they are a little too plain for my taste.

Oh. Nevermind then. :) what about a bristlenose pleco?

Either one of those would work. If I were you, I would add 6 panda corys and a few golden neons. They will still school with your others, are small, and have the yellowish color that would add contrast. Severum momma sells gold neons and they look awesome!