Could use a little extra help.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Zacharyws

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi, Im new to the aquarium scene, well kinda new; I dont think that you can count the aquarium I had when I was in the first grade.

Found the forums a few days ago and have been reading everything in sight. learned a few new things and found a few mistakes already...

I went to my LFS and picked up a 10 gal startup kit which consisted of:
10 Gal. glass tank,
PERFECT-A-HOOD (basic NO hood i guess)
Tetra Whisper Power filter (the one that uses the bio-bags)
a basic 50w 6" heater
the cheap mercury thermometer

I also got 5 lbs of 2-3mm diameter gravel and 5 lbs of 3-5mm diameter gravel

I set all of that up added my tap water and "aqua plus tap conditoner" and let it sit for 3 days

Then I went back and picked out a few plants:
I picked up a "Brazil Sword" and something else that floats that I figured would look cool (DOH!) Can anyone tell me what it is? (top right corner)
http://images.myphotoalbum.com/z/za/zak/zakw/zakwa/zakwashere/albums/album01/DSCF1334.sized.jpg

I would really like to upgrade my lighting and go for some more plants however the LFS is kinda slim pickins as far as plant life goes, any ideas on online ordering? i see the clasifieds occasionaly have the "overgrown" posts

I can already see one of my mistakes now:
I knew nothing of lighting required for planted tanks

Are theese plants O.K. to have in my tank?
What should I do about lighting; I would like the hood to stay "stock looking" so i would like to avoid compact flourecent style fixtures

Then at about day 7 I made another voyage to the LFS; this time to get fish.

Not having seen theese forums until the day I got the fish I basicaly walked in and got what looked "Cool" but yet in the hardy section of the store.