Craigslist Tank Help..!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Big Tex

Aquarium Advice Addict
So I found this tank locally for $45 it's a bow front 55g tank and it has the bottom trim missing a piece is it still stable? How can I check it? Can I go rimless? I need help guys I wanna snatch this up before anyone else does!

Attachments

• image-3870391008.jpg
    image-3870391008.jpg
    119.7 KB · Views: 112
  • image-2374078434.jpg
    image-2374078434.jpg
    242.1 KB · Views: 111
I'm no tank expert but I would think it's fine. As far as I know the trim is just for look so that you don't see the seems of the glass. Makes it look finished I guess really. I would think you can go without it or even put your own on if you wanted to. If you want ask the person you are buying it from to fill it up with water so you can see it hold water and all that fun stuff.

I would pass on it unless you want to buy or make another brace for it. Braces provide structural support. 55g bowfronts usually have a center brace as well from what I've seen. Don't see that in the pics.

good advice guys, what if he knows nothing about tanks and its really a 37g bow front..?

At 37g it probably doesn't have a center brace. You will still need to repair the bottom brace. You can create a new one using aluminum railing. Pretty cheap fix at your local hardware shop. I did the same thing for my 125g using the railing and some rivets. Maybe you can use this info to haggle on the price?

At 37g it probably doesn't have a center brace. You will still need to repair the bottom brace. You can create a new one using aluminum railing. Pretty cheap fix at your local hardware shop. I did the same thing for my 125g using the railing and some rivets. Maybe you can use this info to haggle on the price?

railing and rivets..? onto glass..? how do i conform to the bow..?