Cycle.....???

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Old Bob

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi Fishy People,

Here goes............

I'm new to freshwater fishkeeping and have recently set up a Juwel Trigon 50US gallon tank and I followed all the rules to the best of my ability. So......I put in plenty of spotlessly clean 2mm gravel, sloping from 5cm deep at the front to 14cm deep at the back, some large cobbles (used to give me a tiered effect) plus around 2 dozen plants. The proper amounts of StressCoat and StressZyme were added to clean tap water and then it was left to run for a whole week with about 10 hours of light per day. I took a sample of the water to my local (very upmarket) fish supplier and it tested AOK. With this great news I brought home 6 neons, 10 guppies and 4 shrimpytype things. Now for the bad news ........50% have keeled over within a week. I picked up an API ph test kit and it shows my ph is 7.8. I then tested my tap water and it gave the same reading. That's a summary of where I am today.

Did I do something REALLY wrong? And would someone explain the meaning of the word "Cycle" that's mentioned so many times.

Looking forward to a reply.

first I am interested by what an "UPMARKET" LFS is? Would this be classified as a high class shop vs a hole in the wall kind of store?

What type of filtration are you using?

Adding 16 fish to a new tank is alot of fish even for a 50 gal tank since the bio filter is not fully established. I suspect what your experencing is an ammonia spike.

Please purchase a test kit of have your water tested for ammonia at the LFS. Perform a 25% water change today and also perform another 25% water change in 1 or two days. This will help lower the ammoinia levels if present to a lower level quickly.

I personally hold no faith in the stresszyme product.