Cycling Tanks

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Levi R.

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I know I will 100% get backlash for this, but has anyone else never cycled a tank? I understand the nitrogen cycle, but I have never ever cycled a tank in my life. When i was a beginner, i bought a 29 gallon and filled it up. I put some gravel and some rocks from my backyard, and then added a oscar, three african cichlids, and a pleco. I never had an issue. Of course, i eventually rehomed them, after 6 months. Ever since then, i have 6 tanks that i have put fish in the same day i set them up. I have never had a water spike, and i only do water changes on my 20 and my 29, and one of my 10s as they all have rams. Am i just lucky or does this happen to everyone?

A tank will cycle whether you actively engage with the process or not. Its just something that happens. All the various processes that we call cycling mean is that it will be safer for your fish than just letting it cycle on its own with no control of the process.

I cant really comment on whether you are lucky or not as there isnt much detail on what you did. Maybe your water is acidic, ammonia isnt really toxic in acidic water. Maybe those fish you rehomed lived with health issues, harm from ammonia is a long term thing. Maybe you have live plants and they took up ammonia quicker than is than it can make the water toxic. Maybe some other factor.

But your tanks did cycle.

A tank will cycle whether you actively engage with the process or not. Its just something that happens. All the various processes that we call cycling mean is that it will be safer for your fish than just letting it cycle on its own with no control of the process.